Navigate

New
Older
About Me
Cast
Diaryrings
contact
Wishes
clix
my ebay listings
Image
Design
Diaryland


Recently

July 01, 2006
day 7
June 30, 2006
day 6
June 29, 2006
day 5
June 28, 2006
day 4
June 27, 2006
day 3


Countdown

finally...finished!

Okay, first of all, I really apologize for doing such a shitty job telling this latest story. I think last time I stopped because either Jim was coming over or something was going on. I swear. Anyway...

So I last left off with meeting up with him and the girls and then we made plans to do lunch. Well, and now I am so glad I did this because otherwise my summer was pretty jacked, I decided to just take off for the Cape because it was pretty much the only free week I could foresee for a bit. It was actually partly motivated by the dad. We had our daily email exchange, and I had mentioned that I felt like I should do something with my week off and had I not found the idea of driving up there revolting that I would go. And basically his response was like, suck it up and just go. So I thought about it, packed up my stuff, and went. Now, we had pretty much just exchanged phone numbers and had not talked via phone yet. But I figured postponing our lunch date would be a good reason to call. I wait and wait for a good time traffic wise and minute wise and when I call I actually get his voicemail so I leave this message, slightly cryptic about how I would need to postpone our lunch date and that I would talk to him later.

Wellllllllll, I get up to the Cape at like midnight, crash on the couch and proceed to have a fabulous day with my grandparents and cousins. Later in the afternoon I am chatting with my new principal, who coincidentally grew up not far from the Cape (it truly is a small world, especially in the DC area) and after I hang up, he calls. We only talked for a bit as he was making the girls dinner but he was so jazzed when he heard I just took off. He said he had a feeling something was up but he thought it was so cool. I tried desperately to not contrast this with Jim's response which seems like a whiny complaint that we would not see each that week. Which I must admit seemed silly, especially since I had figured I wouldn't be seeing him and that factored into the taking off decision.

Well, he ended up calling me or sending me a text every day while I was gone. It wasn't even some sort of generic "hi" or anything, we'd talk about my dysfunctional family, or what I had done that day or how things were going with work for him, etc. I think one of the things that really stuck out to me was that the night before I left, it was a Saturday night, and he was going out with some guys from work and he sent me a quick text about being safe on the drive down and that I should feel free to give him a call if I got bored. I thought it was sweet. Funny enough, I didn't have to wait long to talk to him the next day. He called me when I was driving through Providence, to give me his work number and to say that he would be spending most of the day at work. As I left Rhode Island, he had a meeting with other (crazy!) people who were at work and unfortunately when he called me an hour later, I was stuck in some horrendous traffic in Connecticut. We ended up chatting all the way through the rest of CT and through a good part of New York. It was great, it kind of reminded me of old high school chats on the phone. Looking back you almost wonder how you could have spent hours on the phone talking to someone you just spent the whole day with, yet you could. And while we hadn't spent the whole day together, we just had so much to talk about. It was a great mix between talking about things going on in our own lives and just general topics like politics, or music, even religion. The only bad part about it was one point when I was talking about going to the beach with my cousin, and how weird it was to see her in a bikini. Well, especially since the last time we were at the beach together, she was in a bikini, but she was like 2. So he asked me how old she was, and I said 16, and then he asked the question. The question I wondered would come up. Especially since I really didn't feel like I knew what he was feeling. (Friend? More?) He asked me how old I was. I just tried to laughingly dodge the question, you know, the whole you shouldn't ask women how old they are blah blah. He didn't press it, so that was good.

He left on a business trip, so we made plans to meet up when he got back. Maybe I will go into more details about that later but at this point I don't really feel like it. Basically, we met up...things happened...and then we really didn't talk for over a month. It was actually a little weird because he called me on September 1st and I had told myself that day that I should pretty much mentally delete him from my life. He had caused me a lot of problems with Jim...obviously and I felt very troubled by what the situation was. We had finally crossed the age hurdle, we actually I shouldn't say crossed it, because he really freaked out when he figured out that there were 15 years between us. Overall it was a very complicated situation. His ex-wife knew there was something going on and she was pretty pissed and he was very worried about how his girls would take it if we were dating or whatever. I remember the discussion because I felt like, whoa, lets not put the cart before the horse here. But I guess when you have kids you do have to be very futuristic in your dating, I don't know. Anyway, so I told myself, it was a new month, I needed to put it all behind me. It was shortly after the Open House and I was sitting down my colleague and my phone rings. I flip it open and there's his name. I really had that moment of hesitation: should I answer it? What did he have to say? Or should I let it go to voicemail. Of course, that doesn't mean he would actually leave a message. In the end I answered it. It seems like there is an unspoken agreement between us though that we won't bring up what happened two months ago.

Gosh, two months ago...where does the time go?

Before - After

said Jenn on September 30, 2005 at 9:05 p.m.