Navigate

New
Older
About Me
Cast
Diaryrings
contact
Wishes
clix
my ebay listings
Image
Design
Diaryland


Recently

July 01, 2006
day 7
June 30, 2006
day 6
June 29, 2006
day 5
June 28, 2006
day 4
June 27, 2006
day 3


Countdown

all in the family

I awoke to the sounds of knocking on my door. I know it's the phone since that would be the ONLY reason someone would knock on the door. I have rearranged the living room so I no longer hear that phone (that's not why) and my wind tunnel-esque fan must have drowned out the sound of the phone in my room.

My first thoughts: "Who the &*&* is calling me at (looks at clock through tired eyes) %$%$ 9 AM?!?!"

mmmmmmmlkjkjljdlasj I mumble as I pick up the phone. It was my grandmother. Telling me she cannot come to my graduation. mmmmmhmmm I say. I would say anything at this point to get off the phone. We hang up after she rambles on about - you know what, I don't know...As I settle back into my bed it hits me that she is not coming, which pisses me off. This is my second graduation she has missed! WTF? I can't stay that mad though, because she said something about my grandfather being sick. But STILL.

Even one of my brothers is not coming to my graduation. My mother meekly explains that he has to play baseball that weekend. I stare her down from across the table. It's not that he is my favorite per se, but we are definitely closer than I am with my youngest brother. My mother goes on to say that this might be my brother's career. Give me a break! This kid is 12. Roger Clemens he ain't. If anything he may be a Lilly. Y'all know how I feel about him. :) Nah, my brother is good, but you can't plan that far in advance. Plus I can't believe they are putting on that kind of pressure. When I went to my parents' house last night he was saying how he wants to go to the major leagues after high school. I resisted the urge to slap him upside his pimply head. I try to explain to him that college is important. He counters that he got straight As all year, he's smart. Now I can't help myself. I bop him on the side of the head with the dog's chew toy. "Wow. Acing 7th grade! I bow before your greatness! Perhaps I should have my bachelor's degree mailed to you??" I said. Long story short, I am taking him up to UMass next year so he watch our baseball team play and he can meet my friend John, who plays for the team and lives in my apartment complex.

Now there is a sad story. John was like one of the hottest guys in my class in high school. We had a couple, but I thought John was the best. It wasn't even that he looked pretty yummy, but he was really smart (he was ranked 8 in a class of 700), and athletic (he was captain of the football and baseball teams and played for the basketball team). But he was also really nice. Anyway, we were talking about colleges, and I asked him what he was going to major in. He replied baseball. That threw me for a loop. I begged his pardon, thinking he could not have said that. But he was serious. He felt he had the rest of his life to do the real college thing. He was going to college to play ball. I found it sad, but said nothing. My college may be big, but everyone keeps tabs on each other. I knew when my friend was cut from the football team, when a girl left for Dartmouth, because the loner thing was getting boring. Another friend graduated in three...and then there was John. Poor John. His first year was good, he got to play for the team, but then he got injured, so he was redshirted, so he could play during his fifth year. He let himself go (like I can talk, I did the same thing) and gained a ton of weight, and I never even see his name in the paper when the team plays. I wonder if he even does. :( So he will graduate in 5 years, though he could have done it in 4, and I think he will have a degree in History, which seems pretty pointless.

I forgot why I brought that up. *g*

Before - After

said Jenn on May 11, 2002 at 11:39 a.m.