Navigate

New
Older
About Me
Cast
Diaryrings
contact
Wishes
clix
my ebay listings
Image
Design
Diaryland


Recently

July 01, 2006
day 7
June 30, 2006
day 6
June 29, 2006
day 5
June 28, 2006
day 4
June 27, 2006
day 3


Countdown

week in a nutshell

Sidenote: WTF? I was typing an entry, and then my computer shut down! Grrrr...

Anyway, so my week was so boring compared to this last weekend. Here's a quick recap.

Tuesday I went to school and kinda panicked since I realized that the end of the semester is rapidly approaching, meaning that I have a lot of stuff due soon that I barely/haven't started. Sigh. It was so easy to just take things from week to week. My system was great: I am a loser on the weekends, so spend Saturday and Sunday doing all my work for the week. Then on the weekdays I could do lessons and stuff, and just relax and watch a little TV, or update. Except now I have stuff that needs to be done at school and time has just run away from me.

Did I mention my certification test is a week from today? Freaked? Me? Nah...Okay yeah I am totally freaked! I looked at the sample test and the science part is kicking my ass. Plasma? Molecules? Hahahahahahahah. Riiiiiiiiight. Was I supposed to be paying attention to that in junior high? Cause I certainly had more fun passing notes to my best friend. *Sigh*

Anyway, on Tuesday I was so tired since I got about 6 hours of sleep. All the kids commented on my red eyes (thanks to me rubbing them with WOOL - stupid stupid stupid!). So after school I stayed to go over stuff with my mentor, and by the time I got home, it was a few minutes before 5. So I grabbed some cookies and settled in bed to watch the Simpsons. I was all wrapped up in my blankets, and I was so comfortable (and tired) that after the show I turned off the TV and closed my eyes. I figured that I was so tired I would go to sleep now. I also figured that even if that meant waking up at some ungodly hour like 1 or 2 it would not matter. Next thing I knew, the clock said 6:15 AM Whoa....13 hours of sleep?!?!?

Needless to say I was NOT tired on Wednesday. Which is nice, since it is my long day. I went to school, and led a really great morning meeting. Every Wednesday I lead a morning meeting on a certain topic, like including others, giving/receiving compliments. This week I made up a story about how when I visited my best friend (Jenn speak for boyfriend, but he is my best friend too so it's not like its a LIE) I asked (I was careful not to use pronouns because most had forgotten said best friend was a boy - cooties!) my friend how I looked in my new coat. I put on my coat for effect. Then I made a sad face. My friend told me I looked even more short in the coat. My kids all had these sad faces. It was like you could hear them all thinking - how could a friend be mean like that? So then I read them a story from Frog and Toad Are Friends In the story Frog laughs at Toad and children are left to wonder, what should happen next? How does each of them feel. We had such a great conversation. This made me happy because other weeks I follow this curriculum which is very bland and it sucks. I don't feel natural using it. And it shows.

After my seminar I went home, had some dinner and tried to amuse myself before the Bachelor came on. So being the naturally curious person I am, I stumbled upon a real estate site. And of course, I started looking at houses. And then it happened. I found THE house. My house. The house I had to have. I have found some nice houses before, and I had told Jim last week that I had found THE house, but truth be told, it was a test balloon to see what he would say about me staying in Amherst. Needless to say, he failed the test, but I kinda expected that. Whatever. But this house IS the house. It has 3 bedrooms, a huge yard, it's pretty. It's about 10 years old. I even started talking to Jenn about it. My concern was that since it was a lot more (almost double) than the cute 1 br condo I found I figured that maybe we would need a roommate. She assured me that it should be easy to find someone. It's really close to DC - like 15-19 miles away from where Jim works. That was the other key thing. I know Jim needs to live really close to his job because he hates to commute. And then I started to think...this house was in Maryland, and I had not thought about living in MD. I always assumed we would live in VA, so I had gone out and printed their curriculum standards, read up about how to become a teacher there, etc. I knew nothing about teaching in MD. First thing I did was read about the district. Looked pretty good. So far, so good. But THEN I read that if you are certified in another state, you are good to go. You just need to provide proof of certification and your transcripts. That really really made me happy. It's so much easier than in VA.

Moving on, Thursday was a good enough day. I went over to WW, and spent the day there working with those kids. Then I had math class which was good. Did not learn anything I did not already know, but I have come to expect that. It's a good experience though....I guess.

Friday I went over to my lit methods class and started writing a story. I am really excited about this because I haven't been in the mood to write in about two years or so. So this will be interesting, if it pans out. I went on all sorts of errands and stopped in town for a slice at Antonio's. Antonio's makes amazing pizza. It's a by the slice place and they USED to have great prices. I had a slice of Mexican pizza and I almost died when the guy rang it up. If I hadn't already taken a bite I would have just said, forget it. Grrrr...damn inflation...Seriously though, prices have gone up so much in the last 6 years. Jim was telling me about the good ol days when he was a frosh and pizza there was like a dollar.

Since Friday is my goof off day I wrote a few entries, as you can see, took a few tests (again, very obvious), read a book (Double Fudge by Judy Bloom - very good). I also watched a buttload of TV. 48 hours had this creepy story of this 2 yr old that died from being suffocated, and his then 3 yr old brother said the foster dad did it, and then the foster dad said the 3 yr old did it. I was so disgusted, yet so intrigued.

Oddly enough, ever since I got Sims Vacation I have not been as into playing. I'm glad I did not pay full price for it, or I would be pissed. I still stand by Unleashed being the best expansion pack.

In any case, I need to get crackin' on my work. I was going to go for a walk today since yesterday was so nice. I walked home from town and did not even need a coat, and today there is SNOW on the ground. New England soooooo confuses me! :)

Before - After

said Jenn on November 16, 2002 at 11:31 a.m.