Navigate

New
Older
About Me
Cast
Diaryrings
contact
Wishes
clix
my ebay listings
Image
Design
Diaryland


Recently

July 01, 2006
day 7
June 30, 2006
day 6
June 29, 2006
day 5
June 28, 2006
day 4
June 27, 2006
day 3


Countdown

for the good of whom?

I really don't want to talk about master teaching. But...I guess I should. Maybe it would make me feel better? I doubt it...Everytime I think about it, it makes me want to cry.

I started on Wednesday. Wednesday was a pretty good day. The reading part was kinda crazy, and I knew it would be kinda crazy, so I just dealt with it. The kids were really good, and the kickoff to most of my units went well.

Of course, by the time my class rolled around, I was braindead. I just sat there, I was listening of course, but I never participated, and I could feel my professor's eyes on me, as well as my resource person's, but hell. I had nothing to say.

Thursday was pretty good too...I tweaked my reading plan so it was more "doable" It was just my stupid Social Studies unit. I had students get into groups to read this story called Merry Ever After that talks about the life of peasants versus nobles in the context of a wedding. Not so bad, except I had very few copies of the book, so students were off task while they were "listening" to someone else read.

Yesterday was a bit of a disaster...to say the least. The Math lesson was crazy because not only did the kids "get" the concept I was going to teach early on, but we ended up talking about stuff I felt they weren't ready for, like what 1/5 of a 1/3 was. How did we get there? Argh. So that was just dandy. Not only do I have that videotaped, but my resource person was there to observe. Fuuuuuuuck.

Then my program director came in during social studies. Half my kids were in the computer lab, and I had planned for all of them to be in the lab, but I found out that day that they couldn't all go. So I scrambled for something for the rest of the class to do, and came up with this really short reading on the black death. Now, what pisses me off, is I know it looked like one of my sped kids was not in the game, but he asked a really good question at the end of the reading, after she was gone. He asked how come it ended? None of the other kids asked about that. They just accepted that it was there, then it wasn't. But he wanted to know! Grrrrr...he was listening.

Long story short, they stopped my master teaching. They said I need to "regroup." I talked to Jim last night for a while about it, and he was very helpful. He let me vent, and I came to realize that this program really hasn't been helpful for me. So I am on my own. Which in a way, is good. When I start teaching in my own classroom I will be on my own. It just pisses me off that they talk to me like I don't know what I am doing, like I don't know these kids. I knew not to get into a struggle with that kid during social studies. I could have made an issue of him looking like he wasn't listening. But I knew he was. I'll tell you this, him sitting there is the least of my problems. If he's not interested in what's going on, he'll start playing with his feet (don't ask), making noises, the works. Him sitting there quietly told me he was in the game so to speak.

Bottom line is, I have these kids best interests at heart. They never do spelling, but I had spelling planned. They don't get a lot of writing instruction, but I had that planned. But it's hard to do these things when you don't see them modeled. Or, better yet, when you don't learn about them during your methods class.

Basically, they have stuck me with this woman, and hoped I would learn to be a teacher (a good teacher) based on that alone...well don't blame ME when I have trouble. I mean, really...

Assholes...that's all I have to say.

Before - After

said Jenn on May 03, 2003 at 8:31 a.m.