Navigate

New
Older
About Me
Cast
Diaryrings
contact
Wishes
clix
my ebay listings
Image
Design
Diaryland


Recently

July 01, 2006
day 7
June 30, 2006
day 6
June 29, 2006
day 5
June 28, 2006
day 4
June 27, 2006
day 3


Countdown

cheese with my whine

I miss the speakers to my computer. I would like nothing better than to rock out to some mp3s right now. Unfortunately, I feel too lazy to go to my car right now and get them. I will eventually though. A load of laundry is already on, and almost ready to go in the dryer, and once the second load is in I am heading off to Borders. Jim and I had happened by on Friday night, and curious why Borders was open around 11 on a Friday night we stopped in. Heh. Kinda forgot all about the HP madness. Not interested in the festivities we trolled around for books, and I found a great one: What Happened to Recess and Why Are Our Children Struggling in Kindergarten? If I wasn't a po' mofo I would just buy it and read it....nah, I lie. I refuse to buy novel-ly types of books because I know that I will only read them once, and it's like what is the point? That's why I love libraries...that's also why I treat Borders and B&N like libraries. The only books I buy these days are kid books and education methods types of books. I hate buying kid books though because I know they will only have that newness until like October (if I am so lucky). Oddly enough, used bookstores (at least the ones I have found) don't really have a huge appealing selection of used kid books. I am not looking for a dog eared copy of Bob the Builder. I want the Ramonas, the Bailey School Kids, etc. My goal is to have a classroom filled with books. All sorts of books. I want to be able to find that book that sparks the interest of a kid that "hates" reading. *sigh*

Sorry, I don't know how I got on that tangent. It's just really frustrating. I have been spending so much time finding books, math manipulatives, bulletin board materials that I have not even had the time or energy to think about the curriculum. To be fair though, since I don't know what grade I will be teaching yet it doesn't make a lot of sense to worry about that now. But if labor day weekend is approaching, I am in big trouble!

This whole my-apartment-doesn't-have-a-washer-and-dryer-in-it thing is really bugging me. I even found myself thinking about it in the shower this morning. I don't know if it's the whole finding quarters and all that garbage, or just being spoiled by the spending the last year plus trekking right to my own basement to do laundry. I had envisioned myself living in this cheerful little apartment, with my w/d in my kitchen, changing over my load of laundry while I cook myself some lunch. I guess you can't have it all though. I mean, really, if I was to draw up a pro/con list, it would be overwhelmingly in the favor of the apartment (which is obviously why I took it)

PRO:
right outside Baltimore
on the first floor
not so expensive it would put me in the poorhouse
allows pets
indoor mailboxes
free fitness center
secured buildings, with intercom system
right next to tons of stores (including a Target that I think has a grocery store...I'm not sure what a Target Greatland is)
not tremendously far from Jim

CONS
no washer and dryer in the apt
no patio or balcony
can't move in til 8/9

Yeah, I guess I should stop whining. It's just so easy to be pessimistic rather than optimistic about the whole thing.

Alright, time to change the laundry.

Before - After

said Jenn on June 23, 2003 at 11:25 a.m.