Navigate

New
Older
About Me
Cast
Diaryrings
contact
Wishes
clix
my ebay listings
Image
Design
Diaryland


Recently

July 01, 2006
day 7
June 30, 2006
day 6
June 29, 2006
day 5
June 28, 2006
day 4
June 27, 2006
day 3


Countdown

birthday update

The last couple of years I have felt like time was moving more quickly. And then this past month hit me, and time is absolutely flying.

I celebrated my 23rd birthday on Thursday. My kids were so cute: they sang, some brought presents (I TOLD them not to when they had asked) and were on super good behavior. My team presented me with an ice cream cake, and a stool for my classroom. After school I went over to Jim's where he made me dinner and we watched the season premiere of Friends. I really could not have asked for a better night.

I'm not sure if I mentioned this in my last entry, but the weekend before my birthday I introduced one of my teacher friends to one of Jim's friends and they hit it off. So they went on their first date that Friday and then on Saturday we all met up at a karaoke bar in Old Town. It was beginning to feel like the birthday that never ends, as on Monday some teachers took me out for dinner. Obviously I am not complaining.

Speaking of school, things have been improving as far as hours. The first two weeks I would be in my classroom 14-15 hours a day. Then last week I was down to 12 hours a day, which while that's better, that's 60 hours a week and it was really starting to wear me out. Yesterday though I left at 5:30 when Jim stopped by, and today I made it home in time for Simpsons (6:00) So I think now being home by 6 will be my new goal. There are some things I really cannot control about my hours, like that I need to leave my house around 7, because by 7:30 the traffic is gross on route 7. So I'm always going to be in an hour before contract. The best thing is that my team does not come in that early, so I can actually get stuff done. And really, with the kiddos leaving at 4:30, I cannot really see myself leaving before 5. I hate to let my correcting sit around. I find that when I leave something for the next day then I find myself in some sort of Fantasia short where everything multiplies and it gets out of control.

I've really missed updating, and I am hoping that now that I have an internet connection and more free time that things will improve. We'll just have to see! :)

Before - After

said Jenn on October 01, 2003 at 7:47 p.m.