Navigate

New
Older
About Me
Cast
Diaryrings
contact
Wishes
clix
my ebay listings
Image
Design
Diaryland


Recently

July 01, 2006
day 7
June 30, 2006
day 6
June 29, 2006
day 5
June 28, 2006
day 4
June 27, 2006
day 3


Countdown

could it get better??

Remember how before I started teaching I was really nervous about working with my parents? Well, last week I had three parent conferences, and I have to think that they actually went well. The very first parent conference of the year (not during this week) was held with help from my mentor. Okay, actually it was mostly conducted by my mentor. But now I feel so much more confident about working with my parents. On Friday I had a meeting with the school psychologist about a student, and my first inkling was to invite my mentor, and I mentioned to her that I was having the meeting, but when the time came, I felt totally comfortable holding my own.

It's interesting, because the kid part came so long ago, but I feel like there are still certain aspects of teaching that make me nervous. Mostly when it involves other adults. But the best defense is a good offense so I have tried to be as prepared as I can.

I had to have another sub last Thursday, full day this time, and as petty as this sounds, it makes me sad when the kids tell me how "cool" the sub was, or how great a time they had. Don't they know they are supposed to miss me like crazy?? I was certainly missing them. I kept sneaking a peek at my watch, thinking about what activity they should be doing at that moment, wondering if the sub was actually doing it. The sub was pretty good. I found out through a colleague that subs here have to be certified, which is interesting to me, since technically, I am not certified to teach in VA yet. Heh. My sub is more qualified than I am!

Speaking of certification, my district is really riding my ass about it. Apparently they don't realize I have no freakin' control over when my Praxis scores arrive. No matter how many times I tell that as soon as I have them, they will have them, they don't seem to get it. Grrrrr...

Things on the Jim front are going very well. We have been spending a lot of time together, and so far it really hasn't been affecting anything school related. Tonight I had to leave his house before the Sox/Yanks game was over because I had some copying (and updating!) to do, but I didn't really feel bad about it.

Last but not least in the good news parade, things have been going much better (knock on wood) in the whole weight loss thing. I have been going to the gym at least 2, but usually three times a week. I feel like I am already starting to see a little bit of results: some tightening and toning in certain places. It makes me so happy.

I couldn't ask for anything more.

Before - After

said Jenn on October 13, 2003 at 10:22 p.m.