Navigate

New
Older
About Me
Cast
Diaryrings
contact
Wishes
clix
my ebay listings
Image
Design
Diaryland


Recently

July 01, 2006
day 7
June 30, 2006
day 6
June 29, 2006
day 5
June 28, 2006
day 4
June 27, 2006
day 3


Countdown

attack of the parents

It's report card and parent conference time. Yuck! No offence to all you parents out there, but you stink. Why the $%&* does it matter what math group they are in? Do you have a child or a racehorse? I mean, really. I'm not going to tell you that your child is ranked whatever in the class. A big part of that may have to do with the fact that I don't think of them that way. Rar.

My little peanuts, and not racehorses, are doing well. We are trying to transition into second quarter and it's not fun. I have them apply for jobs, for which they get paid and whatnot, and I have really come to like my little workers. I have two children that write for our weekly newsletter and they do a bang up job, if I may say so. We had a rocky start, a lot of talk about using other transitional words, rather than just "Then we went ... Then we did...Then we..." but we have made such improvement it is as if all that is such a distant memory. To think of starting that all over again is kinda sad. Oh well.

We are doing these pumpkin book buddy presentations this week. The students choose a book character, write up 10 clues, and decorate a (small) pumpkin to represent the character. It has been so adorable!! I am dying to scan in some pics of my little ones, but I don't think it would be a good idea. So just take my word for it, okay?

Then on Friday is the culminating event for our quarter long behavior management plan. Our kids earn these things called "soupers" for "souper" behavior. Well, on Friday we will have an auction where they will use these soupers to bid on items. It seems a little odd to me. Almost all of the items have come from parents. I can't imagine a teacher saying to me "please donate items that help me get your kid to behave in school" But hey, it seems to be working. I am contributing to this, however. I have put in a few items, and then all the teachers put up for auction this pizza lunch with the teacher. Four kids have lunch with me in the classroom, pizza and soda. I'm pretty excited about that actually. I have had a couple of kids in for lunch and they are pretty pleasant people to dine with. :)

Before - After

said Jenn on October 27, 2003 at 8:11 p.m.