Navigate

New
Older
About Me
Cast
Diaryrings
contact
Wishes
clix
my ebay listings
Image
Design
Diaryland


Recently

July 01, 2006
day 7
June 30, 2006
day 6
June 29, 2006
day 5
June 28, 2006
day 4
June 27, 2006
day 3


Countdown

anthrax attacks close to home

Just five minutes ago I was sitting at my desk with tears running down my face. I can't hold it in anymore. I held it on 9/11. Even when I watched the towers fall live on TV. I held it in when I found out that an alumna I knew died in one of the planes. I held it in when later we found out one of our professors (not one I had a class with, but still..) was in the other plane in NY. I tried to stay strong when I worried about all of my online friends that I have met here, Jennie and Jenn.

My composure almost broke on Saturday when the national anthem was played. I watched the ROTC students bring out the flag, and for once there was complete and utter silence as the student began to sing. At the end, a few students unfurled some flags they brought and the crowd started chanting "USA, USA" I could feel the tears and I did not allow them to fall.

So what caused my tears today? I got an IM from Jenn. She works for a Senator, and so she was sent home and given Cipro. After I got her IM, I went to CNN to get more information. All I had known previously was that someone in Daschle's office came in contact with anthrax via a letter sent to the office.

What scared me was the pictures that CNN had of Brokaw's envelope and Daschle's envelope. The print just looked so creepy. It sent shivers down my spine. I was also angered by the return address on Daschle's. FOURTH GRADE? It seems so surreal.

Well, I had to get that off my chest. I'll be back when I calm down a little.

Before - After

said Jenn on October 17, 2001 at 12:56 p.m.