Navigate

New
Older
About Me
Cast
Diaryrings
contact
Wishes
clix
my ebay listings
Image
Design
Diaryland


Recently

July 01, 2006
day 7
June 30, 2006
day 6
June 29, 2006
day 5
June 28, 2006
day 4
June 27, 2006
day 3


Countdown

Caution: bitch alert

"Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery."

I started Diary Reviews this summer. I can't say I was the most original person, but it was before all these other sites like Critic and whatever. I started it with my great friends Ronni and Kati. Anyway, we thought we could help out some diaries. Ronni and I knew what it was like to be the new kid on the block, having started our diaries not too long ago. Kati was like our Yoda, helping us out whenever we needed her, which was often.

Anyway, over the last three months a lot has happened with Diary Reviews. All in all, I would call the site a success.

What irritates me is not that there are other review sites. I just don't like that my hard work is being...well, copied. I know its not like I am a designer. It's not some layout I can point to and say is mine. However, there are some sites that do a pretty shitty job of pretending not to be the same as mine. I have to respect Grace a hell of a lot, because Critic is nothing like my site. Same idea, but totally different approach. However, I have seen sites with the same damn layout, I have seen sites with nearly identical scoring...or in one case, identical scoring. Come on. Be at least a tad bit original. I put in a lot of hard work to put my site together. These people rip it off in a matter of seconds. I worked on the scoring procedure for a long time, sending email after email to Ronni and Kati...spent many hours on AIM working it all out.

It's as if no one respects that.

So I guess the point of my rant is that I don't care that there is "competition". I just care that it's more like imitation. Have an original thought guys.

Goodnight.

Before - After

said Jenn on October 25, 2001 at 11:59 p.m.