Navigate

New
Older
About Me
Cast
Diaryrings
contact
Wishes
clix
my ebay listings
Image
Design
Diaryland


Recently

July 01, 2006
day 7
June 30, 2006
day 6
June 29, 2006
day 5
June 28, 2006
day 4
June 27, 2006
day 3


Countdown

raspberry beret

"No Punishment anyone lays on you could possibly be worse than the punishment you lay on yourself by conspiring in your own diminishment."

E! is having this big 80s weekend marathon. I used to be embarrassed by the 80s. Now I have fully embraced that part of my life. Want to hear something bad? I don't think I have mentioned this before, but if I have, I apologize.

My class went on a field trip to go ice skating. So we are on the bus and the driver is listening to the radio. "Every Breath You Take" by the Police comes on, and I heard one of the kids say, "Is this P. Diddy?" There is a silence as they listen to a minute of the song. Then another says, "It's not P. Diddy, it must be a remake." Argh. Kids these days. It seems like a crime that these kids have not been exposed to "oldies" as they would surely call them.

I have always enjoyed a wide variety of music. One of my favorite games this past year, however, was to feign ignorance of my housemates taste in music. I used to love to tease Jim and my other housemate. I used to pretend that I was ignorant of the music of people like Phil Collins. Now, I admit, I don't listen to ol' Phil every day. But come on now. My mother loved to listen to music before she had my brother. We used to listen to music together for hours. In fact, my mother loved music so much that my father bought her a huge stereo for a wedding present. Man, that thing was awesome. It had a CD player. I had never seen one before. Of course, it was 1988. By the time my brother was born a year later she really did not listen anymore. It was so sad. It used to be so comforting to fall asleep listening to my mother sing (not that she sang all that well, but that's another story)

The thing I like most about 80s music is that its darn near impossible to listen to it without feeling the urge to dance. Come on, I dare you to sit still the next time you hear Rod Stewart's "Do Ya Think I'm Sexy"

Okay, okay...that probably does not happen often. That's why I have a whole section of 80s mp3s.

Well, I am off to do a little more house cleaning. TTYL.

Listening to: "PYT" Michael Jackson

Before - After

said Jenn on 2001-06-17 at 5:26 p.m.