Navigate

New
Older
About Me
Cast
Diaryrings
contact
Wishes
clix
my ebay listings
Image
Design
Diaryland


Recently

July 01, 2006
day 7
June 30, 2006
day 6
June 29, 2006
day 5
June 28, 2006
day 4
June 27, 2006
day 3


Countdown

my first interview!

Woo hoo! I have been interviewed at q-n-a

Since I cannot think of anything else to say and I hate writing one sentence entries, I will provide my interview for the lazy folk who dont wanna click the link.

My name is Jennifer, I am a 21 year old college senior living in Amherst, MA. I study Political Science at the University of Massachusetts but I am applying to get my master's degree in elementary education. I chose my username lip because I am a big geek. The name was not taken and it was supposed to stand for Life In Progress, the name of my diary. I suppose I would just have had alifeinprogress as my username if someone had taken lip. I started writing in my diary on May 26, 2001. It was the day before my boyfriend Jim's graduation from college, and I had started my diary in part for him, as a means to stay closer though he was moving 800 miles away. I am also the proud owner of 7 (yikes!) other diaries at Diaryland: Diary Reviews, Diary Tag, Juicy designs, Story of Us - a public diary, Online Flames - another public diary, Secret Santa, and A Sweet Girlie - my diet diary.

1. You say you want to be an elementary school teacher. What grade do you plan to teach and what inspired you to pick this career? I would like to teach either 3rd or 4th. I want to be a teacher because I enjoy working with kids, and I have enjoyed working in the classroom for the last four years.

2. If you were chosen to come up with a new ice-cream flavor, what would it be? It probably exists already, but I haven't seen it - a vanilla ice cream with swirls of chocolate and butterscotch. I really love butterscotch.

3. Congratulations on you 400th entry! :) What would you say made you get this "diary" and do you think it has had any influence on you in any way? Well, I got my diary because I had been reading these two diaries Sadie's Struggle and One Last Spark for over a year, and when spark moved from geocities to diaryland I decided to try again. I had tried a year before over at tripod and it was a pain. I have been writing in diaries for many years and I thought it would be a lot of fun. Being at Diaryland has influenced me in many many ways. I have met a ton of great people and I have written a lot more than I would ever have imagined possible. I must say that it's my different projects at Diaryland that have taught me the most because they involve more than just sharing yourself with others.

4. You say you need to learn to be more self confident. What's one thing that you want to do but are just too insecure to accomplish? Well, one thing I had always wanted to do was rush a sorority. When I finally came to college I chickened out because I felt I was not sorority material. Now I have just adopted the attitude that I am too good for that. However, I still secretly harbor the desire to be a sister.

5. how do you think first impressions affect the way you perceive a person? I have learned over the last few years that my first impressions are almost as always wrong. When I met my boyfriend Jim I hated him. I also did not like V, who became one of my closest friends. As a result I do not put a lot of stock into first impressions.

6. Do you think it's actually possible to find a sober Irishman? Well, I do attend a big party school, so perhaps it's not the Irish in my friend Mike that makes him such a drunkard. ;) Jim is part Irish and he is a pretty sober guy, so I really think it's just Mike. I just like to joke that he has Guinness running through his veins.

7. Some of your entries are poetry. When do you feel is the best time to write? I do a lot of my writing during class or other inappropriate times. I am not sure why. I just get bored and I don't want to fall asleep so I just start writing.

8. Finally, how important is music in your life? I often list the songs I am listening to, or quote song lyrics because music is very important to me. There is nothing more soothing to me than a great song. I have my music collection (over 1000 mp3s) categorized by mood, as well as by artist. I also think it was listening to great lyrics that inspired my love for poetry because so many songs have such poetic lyrics.

Thanks for the interview! It was fun! :O)

Before - After

said Jenn on January 21, 2002 at 10:34 p.m.