Navigate

New
Older
About Me
Cast
Diaryrings
contact
Wishes
clix
my ebay listings
Image
Design
Diaryland


Recently

July 01, 2006
day 7
June 30, 2006
day 6
June 29, 2006
day 5
June 28, 2006
day 4
June 27, 2006
day 3


Countdown

relationship woes?

In class on Thursday we talked about relationships, the role of love and the role of conflict. My professor said something interesting. She said when there is uncertainty in a relationship, it leads to an increase in conflict but a decrease in love. Okay, so perhaps that sounds obvious, but it makes me feel better. I am not used to conflict with Jim. I would like to think that he and I are pretty easy going, and having been in our relationship for so long I think we have better chances of staying together. Research on relationships (another fact from class) says that the first seven years is the hardest time for a relationship. If you can make it through the first two, that is a good sign..things are good until you hit the 4th year and then those next two years are really the make it break it. Well, we have made it through three years. It was not some sort of prison sentence, don't get me wrong. :)

Anyway, the distance thing is really hard. Not as often as I used to, but sometimes I think about how a year from now, when we celebrate four years together, half our relationship will have been long distance. Yuck. Granted, we are very very lucky, and can see each other pretty frequently this year. But one can not predict the future and I know that next year Jim wants to focus more on schools closer to DC, and I am going to have the schedule from hell. :) I am not going to have these cushy semesters like this one where I have no classes on Mondays and Fridays. I am soon entering the world of lesson plans, bulletin boards, assessment, plus dealing with getting MY classes done.

It's interesting, but I do not worry about Jim meeting someone else. It's not arrogance or anything negative that would make me think that. I just have a lot of faith in our relationship heaped with a great deal of trust. It took a long time to build that up as Kelly will recall. Hell, it wasn't that I did not ever really trust Jim, I just had a hard time trusting in general..anyway, I digress. So I worry about the future not because I think he will find some cute Southern belle, but more that the distance between us will put a strain on us, especially if we cannot see each other often. Also, at our ages, people still change and if it is months between visits we may start to seem like different people.

Ah, enough brain spew, I am going to get away from my computer before I get electricuted like my mother would always warn. Ta!

Before - After

said Jenn on April 19, 2002 at 2:12 p.m.