Navigate

New
Older
About Me
Cast
Diaryrings
contact
Wishes
clix
my ebay listings
Image
Design
Diaryland


Recently

July 01, 2006
day 7
June 30, 2006
day 6
June 29, 2006
day 5
June 28, 2006
day 4
June 27, 2006
day 3


Countdown

home sweet home, for the last night

I think tonight is my last night in this apartment. I am tempted to be sad, but at the same time I am so freakin' bored that I cannot help but be happy.

I know, give me a week, and I would much rather be bored in my own apartment than living with my family (read: mother) but hell, I live in the here and now.

My apartment seems creepy, being almost empty and whatnot. I still remember when Jim and I moved in about this time two years ago. It was the day we had to be out of the dorms, and a few friends helped us move our stuff here. Those were the days before we had furniture, when everything could fit in a car. After we put everything in either our room or the living room we ordered Papa Johns and ate pizza on the floor.

Ah, the good old days.

It was a cold May, kinda the way May has been this year. I remember turning on the heat, pleased that it was included in the rent. I would walk around the maze of totes and boxes, wrapped in a blanket or two.

In those early days, since we had no bed, we took all of our blankets and comforters and piled them into a makeshift mattress. It hurt like hell, but I did not care.

I did care when I got hella sick. C'mon, you know it was bad because I dared to say "hella." I had such a sore throat. I am not a good sick person. I get very melodramatic (okay, I usually am, shut up) and feel like I am going to DIE.

It was so bad that Jim stayed home from the SGA retreat they have every year. I had gone the year before, so I filled him in. He jokes now that it was a good thing he did not go: there was abig scandal when classes started about how alcohol and shit was bought with student funds. Needless to say, people were pissed.

Back to my apartment. Jim and I talked about it during his visit this weekend. We talked about that first summer, how we would come home from work, make some dinner and watch Simpsons and Seinfeld. Good times. We talked about how we managed to have sex in every room of the place. (wink) When we had sex on Monday, he joked about it being his first time with a college graduate. Now I think about it being our last bout of nookie in our first place.

So, yeah, turning in my key tomorrow will be sad, no doubt. Of course, there are so many milestones to look forward to, and that cheers me up.

Before - After

said Jenn on May 28, 2002 at 11:15 p.m.