Navigate

New
Older
About Me
Cast
Diaryrings
contact
Wishes
clix
my ebay listings
Image
Design
Diaryland


Recently

July 01, 2006
day 7
June 30, 2006
day 6
June 29, 2006
day 5
June 28, 2006
day 4
June 27, 2006
day 3


Countdown

back to school...the sequel

Sarah asked how my first day went. My landlady asked how my first day went. My German housemate even knocked on my door to ask me how my first day went - and we never talk.

My mother, well, God broke the mold when he made her, lets put it at that. Here is the conversation we had today.

Mom: Hello? (sounds irritated - now, she has caller ID, so she KNOWS it is me)

Me: Hey Mom, how are you? How was the first day of school?

Mom: It's tomorrow.

Me: Oh? Oh, well I assumed it was today because I started teaching today.

Silence....awkward silence

Me: Well, I wanted to call you because I got a bill today from health services. It's from back in November. Can you believe that? Anyway, I thought we had taken care of that. [long story short, I have been getting bills all year. I was paying them, but my mother finally called the insurance company to see why. They said they would pay UMass and then UMass would give me a check. This was back in June, mind you.]

Mom: I guess you will just have to call them.

Me: Well, what did they say when you called them. By the way, when am I supposed to get that check. A check would be nice right now.

Mom: (apparently ignoring what I said) Do you have your insurance card?

Me: No, since you said it does not work.

Mom: (sigh) Fine, mail me the bill and I will call them. Oh and get a letter from the registrar stating you are a student so you can get back on the health insurance.

Me: Well, I will be teaching all week, but I could do it next week. Okay?

Mom: Yeah, well, I have to go. Bye.

Me: Bye.

Brrr...I could feel the cold air through the phone.

Thanks to everyone who sent messages wishing me luck. I spent an hour talking to Jim on the phone last night, and then when his phone died we hopped online and talked well past my bedtime. I tossed and turned a bit, and before I knew it, the alarm went off. Having had the foresight to shower the night before I was able to quickly get dressed and head out the door. I left at the time I was hoping to arrive at school, and of COURSE there had to be traffic...don't you love it?

So at 8:31 I arrived, nine minutes before my first student....

Before - After

said Jenn on September 03, 2002 at 9:26 p.m.