Navigate

New
Older
About Me
Cast
Diaryrings
contact
Wishes
clix
my ebay listings
Image
Design
Diaryland


Recently

July 01, 2006
day 7
June 30, 2006
day 6
June 29, 2006
day 5
June 28, 2006
day 4
June 27, 2006
day 3


Countdown

just do it

I was looking at the weekly wrap up, and since I decided not to answer the questions, that does not mean I can't just talk about it anyway.

This weeks topic was elections.

Having a political science degree, I am very passionate about politics. Having spent the last two years not studying political science I am a lot more interested since I am not all burned out anymore. Anyway, there are lots of causes I am passionate about.

Taxes: Taxes suck. What sucks even more is when people raise taxes in economically depressed times. People need more money that they can pump back into the economy. I mean, look at me right now. I have all sorts of money I shouldn't have, and I am spending it. More taxes would mean people would hold even tighter to every buck they have.

Education: duh. Seriously though. I am not in favor of standardized testing. I am in favor of bilingual education, and I know it takes more than a year for these kids to learn English. English is one of the hardest languages to learn. I believe we need to lower class size to less than 20. We need mentoring programs set up to help new teachers. And this bs about eliminating recess is exactly that, bs. Kids need to be able to run around. We take away recess and you are going to have a nation of really fat people. These kids need recess. PE does not cut it for exercise.

Women's rights: I am a big feminist, but I think I start off in new environments as being pretty subtle about it. Women are half the population in this country, but a dismal percentage of our government. Even in female dominated careers like teaching, men make more than women. Equal jobs deserve equal pay. The Y doesn't make men more intelligent, more able. I'll also be happier when I see more comprehensive maternity leave across the country. We talk about family values and what is wrong with our nations children but its getting harder to provide for your family financially and still be there for them.

Well, anyway, I have my absentee ballot and I already voted, and I hope everyone else will vote on Tuesday. If you like how things are in your town, your state, your country, you should vote. If you don't you have even more reason to vote. So just do it.

Before - After

said Jenn on November 02, 2002 at 11:31 a.m.