Navigate

New
Older
About Me
Cast
Diaryrings
contact
Wishes
clix
my ebay listings
Image
Design
Diaryland


Recently

July 01, 2006
day 7
June 30, 2006
day 6
June 29, 2006
day 5
June 28, 2006
day 4
June 27, 2006
day 3


Countdown

vacation recap: friday

Friday: I woke up and I felt like the time would pass so slowly. I was so excited. I had picked out my new Ann Taylor outfit - black sleeveless sweater and a brown tweed skirt. Plus the knee high boots that I had not told Jim about. I knew he would love them.

Somehow I made it through class. I don't know how. I sat there worrying about my car, which I parked in a church spot next to the School of Ed. It was a lot closer than my parking spot out in Timbuktu. But my car wasn't towed, thankfully. Interesting sight: me trying to get down the hill in my boots (with heels)

I was really at odds - what should I do with all the free time I would have at the airport. What a distinction between me and Jim. He loves waiting at the airport. I hate it. So since it was 1 and my plane left at 5 I tried to think of what to do. I was eagerly awaiting my clinique purchase so I quickly drove home. Of course Murphy's Law says if you are waiting for it, it will arrive as soon as you stop. It wasn't there so I grabbed some lunch quickly. Back on the road at 1:30.

I drove along, listening to my ass shakin' mix. I was impressed that the roads were not as congested as I had anticipated. My plan was that if I could get on 91 in a good amount of time I would go to the mall for a bit. Suddenly I turned down the last road before the bridge. Ha. It was backed up to the curve. Bad sign. I must have sat there for a good 5-10 minutes. As soon as I got on 91 it was all good.

So I went over to the mall. I went to Gap to see if they had any more macintosh coats. I had really wanted one, but at the time I first noticed them I had like no cash. Now the website has like XXXXXXXXXXXL in like gray. Blech.

Naturally the store had the color I wanted, but in XL. I held out hope, since sometimes stores can run small so I tried it on. No luck. I looked silly. It was way too big and way too long. Too bad too, since it was on sale for 19 bucks. Damn.

I did manage to get myself a pea coat at Old Navy. Hey, I am only what? 3 years behind the trend? Whatever.

At about 10 of 3 I took off for Bradley. I made good time. I parked in the timbuktu economy lot (since when is 7.50 a day ECONOMY huh?)at 3:26 and was at my terminal by 3:45. Damn. A flight left for DC at 3:50 but it was full. Jim and I had discussed me leaving on the 3:50 but first of all, he had to go to Baltimore to pick me up so he would have had to leave super early for work and secondly, with murphy's law I would not have made it. Of course, I went home for 30 minutes, and the mall for like 45-55, so I think I could have, but whatever.

I got the coveted "A" boarding pass, so I got my buns in line right away. I was like the 3rd person on the plane. I don't know how I even focused on my book during the flight. It was so exciting. I kept pulling out my new (yay) clinique makeup bag and checking my hair, and my makeup. Heh. I think it drove stink-o Cletus next to me crazy.

One thing I hate about post 9/11 plane travel is that people can't be in the terminal anymore. I used to love stepping off the plane and seeing Jim right there.

I stepped out of the terminal and there he was! He wasn't sure if he would be on time with all the DC/Baltimore traffic, but there he was....He shaved his facial fur. Which was nice, since this wacked out teacher who posts all these crazy anti-Bush fliers in his classroom had the same look going. It was so weird though. Funny too, because I was beginning to think that look was there to stay. He looks so cute without it though...but so young! Wow.

Silly me, I actually felt kinda shy. It's not like its been a wicked long time since we had seen each other, but whatever. I don't even remember what we talked about at first. It was just so nice to see him. To walk with our arms around each other. *sigh*

We stopped for dinner at this Chinese resturant that believes in not cooking the meat. Ugh. Don't get me wrong, I love my steak rare, but if I order beef it better not be neon pink inside. What a disappointment.

You can believe our first night was fun! ;)

Before - After

said Jenn on November 13, 2002 at 10:03 p.m.