Navigate

New
Older
About Me
Cast
Diaryrings
contact
Wishes
clix
my ebay listings
Image
Design
Diaryland


Recently

July 01, 2006
day 7
June 30, 2006
day 6
June 29, 2006
day 5
June 28, 2006
day 4
June 27, 2006
day 3


Countdown

pitter patter of little feet

I found an interesting diary today. A diary of a first grade teacher. It's really cute. I know I could never do 1st grade. Two of my friends, Bethany and Susannah teach younger grades. Beth does 1st right now and will do 3rd with me in the spring, and Susannah used to do 1st and 2nd in Compton. I think the diary reminds me the most of her since she has these adorable little kittens.

I started thinking, there is one thing I am rather adamant about: not teaching K-2. I wonder why that is. I could even see myself teaching older kids if I so desired (I don't, but I COULD) but I could never see myself teaching the really little ones. Yet when I did afterschool day care when I started college my supervisor always paired me with the little ones. She said I was the only one she trusted to takr good care of them. I remember one year we went on our end of year trip to a huge water park. I begged and begged, please put me with the 3/4, or even 5/6. What group did I get? Yeah, the kindergarten. I was crushed. But I seriously think my group was the best behaved, and we had fun. My boss was so pleased when we got back. I don't feel like I did anything extraordinary, yet all the other groups had run amok, and my group was chilling relatively quietly.

Anyway, speaking of teaching, I need to finish some papers for my certification file...fun fun!! Toodles

Before - After

said Jenn on December 08, 2002 at 12:48 p.m.