Navigate

New
Older
About Me
Cast
Diaryrings
contact
Wishes
clix
my ebay listings
Image
Design
Diaryland


Recently

July 01, 2006
day 7
June 30, 2006
day 6
June 29, 2006
day 5
June 28, 2006
day 4
June 27, 2006
day 3


Countdown

Friday Five

I was thinking of boycotting the Friday Five, because they have kinda sucked lately, but when you are putting off doing a paper, you will do anything!

1. Where do you currently work? I currently work as an America Reads/Counts Tutor at X Elementary in Amherst. I work in a 4th grade classroom.

2. How many other jobs have you had and where? Since I started college in 1998 I have worked as America Reads Tutor. I have worked in an afterschool setting, I have worked for two years in a 3/4 classroom, one year in a 4th grade classroom, and I have floated among K-4 classrooms. While at UMass, I have done lots of odd jobs to either suplement my income or while school was closed. I have worked at the library, I have worked in the Controller's Office, I have worked in student affairs. Also, one year that I was in student government I was paid.

My non-UMass stints include a summer at a video store (frosh year), my last semester of college I worked as a delivery girl, and in high school I worked at the public library.

3. What do you like best about your job? Ha. Everything? Well, my job was the impetus for going to get my master's in education. I can't think of many people who had a job in college that became a career. One thing I love about my job as opposed to teaching is that I am not responsible for the whole class. I am very detail oriented, so with this job I can just zero in and work with one child with a deaf ear to everything else going on. That one on one attention is great, but if you are a teacher you can't just ignore your class while you work with one student. ;)

4. What do you like least about your job? I have had this happen at all three placements I have had: school now, school before and afterschool. See, these jobs are funded by the government, it was a program that was founded during the Clinton administration to supplement his educational goals. So schools don't pay anything for me to be there, and then they try to get me to do stupid shit. Sometimes I just do it because I figure, hey, I am getting 12 an hour to make copies, but sometimes they really take advantage and I get really frustrated. That's why I left both the afterschool and my first school. They wanted me to work in book closets cleaning or stupid shit that is explicitly in my contract as a NO NO.

5. What is your dream job? My dream job would be working in a school where you get paid adequately, where you have resources for your classroom, it would have a mentoring program for new teachers, there would be extended day (morning and afternoon) for the children. You would get adequate planning periods. Teachers in that school would work collaboratively, sharing ideas and resources. We would have excellent programs for students with special needs, including the gifted and talented.

I also think it would be great to one day teach the gifted.

Before - After

said Jenn on January 19, 2003 at 12:19 p.m.