Navigate

New
Older
About Me
Cast
Diaryrings
contact
Wishes
clix
my ebay listings
Image
Design
Diaryland


Recently

July 01, 2006
day 7
June 30, 2006
day 6
June 29, 2006
day 5
June 28, 2006
day 4
June 27, 2006
day 3


Countdown

riiiiiiiiiight

Last night was my weekly jaunt out of the house. It was fun, aside from eating way too much at the Chinese buffet. Very evil I tell you. That much rice should not be legal.

In a final push to get rid of my last couple of books and cds, I signed up for Swappingtons. It seemed great, kinda what I had been hoping that barter would have become. The thing that is tough is that I have found so many things that I would love to have, but alas, I have no points yet....Of course, you can fix that if you go sign up at the site and tell 'em retrogrrl sent ya! :)

My ebay auctions have been coming along quite nicely. I only have one thing without a bid, which makes me sad, I hope it sells. I think all in all my ebay selling experience has been really good. The great thing is, I made enough money with my auctions that I did not even feel badly about buying Jim's birthday present this weekend. It's really cool and I hope he likes it. Of course, then later when I went on ebay to check my auctions I found some great Yankees tickets, which pissed me off because the prices were amazing, but I can't just go and buy them, since I don't know his schedule. That's one thing that sucks. Even weekends are not guaranteed free. I tried calling him yesterday, but I think he has a conference this weekend - it's so hard to keep track.

Hmmmmmm...my life can't possibly be that boring. What else have I been doing? Well, Friday, finally free from my class, I went to work. The class I normally work in was on a field trip so since the reading recovery teacher was out, I did that for the day. Man, my methods class sucked, because the only reason I made it was because I had worked with the reading recovery teacher at the school I worked at as an undergrad. That and I had read about it in this amazing book I bought like two years ago. Anyway, in the morning I had 4 half hour sessions with 4 first graders. I think it went really well. The wheels in my head starting spinning, and I am thinking that in a few years I would not mind getting trained to do reading recovery. Of course, in a few years there will be like NO money for public schools, so a great program like that will probably be scrapped. Dammit. Then in the afternoon the sub plans said to go into work with a third grade class. Woo! I thought this would be great since in eight days I will be starting my prac in 3rd grade.

They are so little! I knew there was going to be a difference, but it still kinda threw me for a loop. The transition might be a little harder than I thought. Hmph. It was still really good. And then there was reason number 43098025827 why my math methods class was great: they were playing this number game we played in methods class. Otherwise I wouldn't have been able to just jump right in.

Well, I should spend today and tomorrow (hopefully I can get most of it done today) writing my final paper for the evil winter class. I think my topic will be an exploration of the book Joey Pigza Swallows the Key - it's the story of a child with ADHD. The paper has to be 7 pages, so I figured if I do summary, critique, and then the accomodations I would make for Joey I will be all set. ;) I just need to keep repeating 30% 30%30% 30% (of my grade).

Ta!

Before - After

said Jenn on January 19, 2003 at 12:00 p.m.