Navigate

New
Older
About Me
Cast
Diaryrings
contact
Wishes
clix
my ebay listings
Image
Design
Diaryland


Recently

July 01, 2006
day 7
June 30, 2006
day 6
June 29, 2006
day 5
June 28, 2006
day 4
June 27, 2006
day 3


Countdown

last day

I went out with V last night, last night of "freedom." Last night to do whatever, stay up as late as I want and not worry about this lesson, or that paper, BAH. We rented the Good Girl. We went to three video stores. Suddenly Amherst had a drought of the movie. Apparently people were really interested in seeing it because 20+ copies were gone. We were about ready to give up and suddenly as we headed towards the door counter boy headed over with, yup, a copy of the movie. Score! We followed him stealthily for a minute or so, and then when he finally noticed and turned around I snatched the movie from his pimply self. Hahaha.

So here it is, 11 AM, my last day of freedom, I am sitting in the dark in my room. Listening to some LL. I have come down with a cold and I would like nothing better than to find a way to make it go away before tomorrow. Not a great first impression for the new kidlets if my nose is alternating between runny/stuff, my eyes are watery, and my throat is scratchy. Bah.

As much as I have enjoyed my little vacation I am eager to start my last semester. Four months and 11 days. I am hoping the time will fly and it seems like it will. I mean, heck, I have three weeks until my first week off. This week I have a three day weekend. Three weeks after my vacation in February, I have another three day weekend. Then four weeks after that, I have Friday off, and then it's another week off. Woo hoo, 10 days off! Thank you, Good Friday. Then, after Spring Break it's FOUR WEEKS until Graduation. With the way our contract is shaping up, after graduation we only have two weeks left. I can deal with that. I'm still worried about how the rent thing will shape up of course. I am NOT going to stay here the whole month. I think in a way that was very irresponsible of my advisor. Hell, I am sure there are other people who are not sticking around after the program. What are we supposed to do for six days?Heh, of course, since I paid for the whole month of August, when I moved in like the second week, maybe that will even out. If not, maybe I can just pay a reduced rate. Since six days is 20%, maybe I can pay 20% of my rent. I would be down with that, I guess. I am still going to cross my fingers for free. Heh. It's not like this woman NEEDS the money. She does this because she wants to. Her house is paid off, it's like it's that bad. So, there it is, the next 19 weeks at a glance.

While I am beyond excited, I am looking around my room and hoping I can shove all this shit into my car. Heh. I was a little more confident before, but now I am not so sure. I think what kills it is my book case. I think I will have to take that bad boy apart. Basically my stuff is either paper, books, or clothes. Before I leave I am jettisoning tons of stuff. Like my old towels. Like my jeans that are way to big that I cling to because they are so worn and comfy. I am even going to ditch some old sets of sheets. One, Jim and I are not going to do the twin bed thing. I would rather have like no other furniture in the house, and live off ramen for months than share a twin with him in our house. Ouch...my neck and back are cramping just thinking about it. Two, they are old, and why bring them?

This is one of those few times I wish my mother was here. She packs like a champ. She could probably make anything fit into my car.

Well, I guess it's not really a concern right now. I can think about that when I start packing in May. Yay, packing in May. Before I know it, May will be upon us, and I will be so very happy. Of course, I will be ending both my courses and will probably have tons of crap to do, so I might not know that I am supposed to be so happy. Maybe this will remind me. When it's May - be HAPPY. Because it will be May. May means almost done. :)

In other news, check out Swappingtons, and if you haven't signed up, you should. Because you know you want my books. Plus then you can say I referred you (retrogrrl) and then I can be a very happy camper. I feel so badly to have new books just sitting on my shelf. The other books make fun of them. I mean, their purpose in life was to be read. *sigh* Poor books. I found tons of children's books there, which makes me happy, because I am still trying to build my classroom library. It's still kinda sad at this point but come on now, I am going to be a teacher, not exactly rolling in dough. But reading is very important to me, so I want to have lots of books for my kidlets to read.

Well, I think it's time to grab some breakfast. Toodles.

Before - After

said Jenn on January 26, 2003 at 10:59 a.m.