Navigate

New
Older
About Me
Cast
Diaryrings
contact
Wishes
clix
my ebay listings
Image
Design
Diaryland


Recently

July 01, 2006
day 7
June 30, 2006
day 6
June 29, 2006
day 5
June 28, 2006
day 4
June 27, 2006
day 3


Countdown

Surprise!

Monday's class was...well, about as enlightening as the week before. Beth and I have discovered that since it does not matter, we might as well use the time to correct papers and such. Ha.

So we did.

She left early since she lives like in Timbuktu, and it was snowing pretty hard. I, on the other hand, decided that since I had no better time to go get a book from the library, I left right away and headed over to the library. For no reason at all, as I was walking from my car to the library I decided to turn my phone on. Not like many people call me. Anyway, as I left the library like three minutes later, I decided to call a friend. He wasn't home though. So when my phone rang on the drive home, I figured it was him. I put my phone in the holder in my car and put it on speakerphone.

It was Jim.

He asked me where I was or what I was doing. I replied that I was driving home from the library, and it was snowing like crazy. And then he asks me if I want to get dinner. I was not amused...I thought he was playing a trick on me. Like, oh, well we can get dinner in three days. So then he tells me how he went to the Ed building looking for me, and I wasn't there. It turned out we were at the same intersection. How odd. Okay, well, the whole thing was odd, but it was even more odd that we were at the same intersection.

So I parked my car at the gym and we went out to dinner. He had flown to CT in the middle of the day but since I was teaching and then going to a class he hung out on campus. I was actually surprised he had been listening when I prattled on about my schedule at the beginning of the semester. Of course, I have two classes, one that ends at quarter of seven, the other at 6:30, so he got mixed up and went to my class at 6:45, and I was already at the library by then.

Anyway, after dinner we dropped my car off at my school and headed off to the hotel, where he gave me a pre-Valentine's present. I won't say what it was, but it was really neat. Jim thinks I did not like it, but I think it takes some getting used to. ;)

It was so hard waking up the next morning, and not just because we went to bed late. I did not want to leave him. Fortunately the hotel was not too far from Amherst so we had some breakfast at the hotel and went off to school. It's so hard to be all cheery and bright when your loved one takes off to drive to Vermont, and you know you won't see him for three more days. I guess in the scheme of things, it's not so bad. Hell, before Monday it had been over a month since I had left VA. But still. Seeing him made me miss him even more!

But now it's already Wednesday, and I have class in an hour, and then before I know it Thursday will be here, and we will be able to meet up after school hopefully. In any event, I will see him Thursday and I am so happy.

It's the best Valentine's present I could get.

Before - After

said Jenn on February 12, 2003 at 2:46 p.m.