Navigate

New
Older
About Me
Cast
Diaryrings
contact
Wishes
clix
my ebay listings
Image
Design
Diaryland


Recently

July 01, 2006
day 7
June 30, 2006
day 6
June 29, 2006
day 5
June 28, 2006
day 4
June 27, 2006
day 3


Countdown

900 - Valentine's history

I always like to do something significant for landmarks, and since this is my 900th entry I figure I should do something for it.

Today in the shower I was thinking about Valentine's - no particular reason and I know that sounds odd, but whatever.

The whole thread started when I realized that it had been a while since I have been single on Valentine's...not that I am angling for that..

So I started to think of my Valentine's history, since it started ten years ago...(If this were TV there would be some flashback magic going on)

From my journal February 12, 1993

I had a great time at the dance! Guess what (actually three things) 1. During Science Amy embarrassed me by having David send me a Valentine's present Amy was one of my closest friends in 7th grade. We had met in 5th grade when we did gifted and talented, but went to separate schools. In junior high we reunited and were really close. Anyway, she had this older brother David and I had a crush on him. So she had him go to the office and drop off a box of chocolates (I think there was something else, but I remember sitting at lunch eating chocolates with her) 2. For Valentine's Day Justin gave me a cute bear, his name is Sweetheart. Justin was my first boyfriend either. He surprised me with the bear at a dance. 3. Elisa is going out with someone finally, unfortunately it's Josh. Elisa was my best friend. You know, it's odd. She was absolutely gorgeous but for some reason or another had not found a guy until she met Josh who kinda had a reputation for being a heartbreaker. At the dance Elisa, Josh, Justin and I had our pictures taken. I still think it's sad how at every school dance there would be some cheesy backdrop where they would take your picture for the cost of a roll of film. Rip off. Poor Carolyn, that fool of a boyfriend Joseph was cheating on her right in front of her.

I'm in love with Justin and I just don't know what to do. The only time I get to see him is at school. :( Did I mention that I made it on Student Council? Sometimes I get afraid because sometimes when he has his arms around my waist or we are just holding hands he gets so intense that if I MOVE he looks at me like "where are you going?" and that scares me. Bye.

Hmmm...looks like my habit of being really random when I write has not improved much of the years. Yikes!

So there you have it, my first Valentine's.

March 25, 1994

Wow! So much has happened! Andrew and I had broken up two weeks before Valentine's Day and then at the dance he realized how much he missed me and asked me back out. But three weeks ago we broke up and almost two weeks ago he asked out Sarah. Sarah was my new best friend. I moved that summer to MA. My heart is broken! Damn them. Sarah doesn't realize how much she's hurting me. Andrew knows. But he says he still loves me.

Gee whiz. Am I wacko magnet or what?

Freshman year is such a blur by now. I only wrote one entry in my journal, and it was at the end of the year. I was a lot more focused on my friends, and only went on casual dates (read: go to the mall, walk around a few times and then go home)

Sophomore year (1996) I was dating Alan but I did not really write about it. In fact I did not write anything that year. Oh well, not really a big loss there. :) We ended up breaking up a week or so later during our winter break trip to DC

Junior Year (1997): That year I was dating a guy named Adam and during Valentine's I spent my time worrying about him. He was a year older and was debating whether or not to go to college. This caused a rift with his parents and he moved out for a while. I wrote an entry a few days after Valentine's about how I can't rely on him and he needs to set his priorities straight. We broke up a month later on our three month anniversary.

Senior Year (1998): This was my last year where I was single on Valentine's. I spent the day hanging out with my close friend and fellow single Nikki, ogling our crushes on the football team. It was a month later that I met David and we dated off and on until October.

First Year (1999): I spent Valentine's with my boyfriend that I always refer to as "ex" we had been dating a couple of months and he was really really intense...sound familiar? Anyway, Nikki came to visit that weekend because she was off from school (she was a year behind) and since I had to work the two of them hung out...They went off to the mall and she convinced him to get this huge Piglet that is like the size of my third graders. Geesh. When she finally left he surprised me with a teddy bear that had a ring tied around it. (the ring I lost last month...oh well) It was a sapphire (my birthstone) and he presented it as a "pre-engagement" ring. It kinda freaked me out but I accepted it anyway. It was about two weeks later that I started falling for Jim and then in April I left Ex to be with Jim...

Sophomore year (2000): Ah, my first Valentine's of the new millenium, maybe now I can break my cycle of wackos? LOL. For Christmas in 99 he gave me a new journal so I wrote about our Valentine's in there.

February 14, 2000

Happy Valentine's Day! This was the best Valentine's Day ever! Jim's so sweet. He gave me a dozen roses and two things of magnetic poetry. One was romantic poetry and the other is erotic poetry. I love him so much. This has been such a good day. He's the love of my life.

'nough said.

Junior year (2001): I didn't write about it. :( Damn.

Senior Year (2002): Read about it here, here - those were actually written on Valentine's. Here's another one.

Before - After

said Jenn on February 09, 2003 at 8:37 p.m.