Navigate

New
Older
About Me
Cast
Diaryrings
contact
Wishes
clix
my ebay listings
Image
Design
Diaryland


Recently

July 01, 2006
day 7
June 30, 2006
day 6
June 29, 2006
day 5
June 28, 2006
day 4
June 27, 2006
day 3


Countdown

ooooooooooooooookay

My head is freakin' pounding.

It was NOT a great day.

I think I knew that this morning (see earlier entry). I ended up running late leaving for school, and then when I went to the lab to print some plans the printer was not working. WTF! Actually, someone set it to print to the library. Scoundrels!

So I strolled into the classroom at like 8:20, when I really should be there at 8.

Then I get into this thing with a kid, who is a major PITA. Yesterday's altercation was when we did our morning greeting. We did one where you use an adjective that starts with the same letter as the person's name. So, someone would have said to me "good morning jolly jennifer" or something like that. Except this little angel said "good morning adrenaline a." *scratches head* excuse me? I asked him, what do you mean? adrenaline is not an adjective. He gave me this look like, do you always smoke that much crack? and replied that yes it was, adrenaline means hard core. ooooooooookay. So I asked him to think of another adjective and greet A. again. But this kid refuses. Starts practically yelling, I was wrong, it IS an adjective. My mentor removed him away from the group, got him a dictionary, had him look it up and then told him to calm down. By the way, looking in the dictionary did absolutely nothing for him, he was still insisting he was right.

WELL, today we were working on an editing worksheet. Actually, the kids had done it for homework a few nights ago, my mentor corrected it, and gave it back. She put tally marks over each paragraph to indicate how many things they missed. Well he was stumped. He KNEW there were no more errors. I scanned the page, and sure enough, an apostrophe was missing from a possessive. Ah, but he had been absent. So I said that he had missed the lesson on possessives, and launched into my spiel. I figured he was listening. Well, when I was done, I asked him if he saw a possessive missing an apostrophe. He said no. I asked him to check again. So he says "no, I mean that's wrong." Pardon moi? He launches into how no, apostrophes DON'T show possession.

Riiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiight. As frustrated as I am now, I was pretty calm then. I walked over to the reference shelf. I said to him let's go check out what the book says. We have a book we use for learning grammar and stuff and there is a proofreading section in the back, that explains all the different punctuation and how to use them. I turn to apostrophes, and lo and behold there it was. We read it together, read the examples. He was not impressed. He shrugged. "Well," he says, "the book is wrong."

*sings Twilight Zone theme* Okay kiddo. You got it. Did you go to the Hilary Clinton school? Do you think that just because YOU think something, it must be true. That everyone else is wrong? Alrighty then.

There was no winning this one. I said to him, "look, this is the truth and I am not going to get into a discussion about this with you." And I walked away.

Well of course, that was NOT the end of it, and it resulted as the last one, with my mentor having to step in. Damn it. I hate when that happens not because I feel like I should be some all knowing totally capable person, but it makes me worry: how would this go down when I am solo?

Bah. So my head is throbbing, and I need to write a lesson plan for tomorrow. All I want to do is curl into bed and sleep for 10 hours. Hmph.

In good news, class went well and I did not look like a loser. Always good. I did not feel prepared walking into it, that's why it's noteworthy.

Ta!

Before - After

said Jenn on February 26, 2003 at 8:19 p.m.