Navigate

New
Older
About Me
Cast
Diaryrings
contact
Wishes
clix
my ebay listings
Image
Design
Diaryland


Recently

July 01, 2006
day 7
June 30, 2006
day 6
June 29, 2006
day 5
June 28, 2006
day 4
June 27, 2006
day 3


Countdown

PMS and retail therapy

PMS is evil. Having not had my period for over a year, I kinda forgot about all its evil effects. Like putting on a pair of pants and being like wtf? when they don't quite zip up with the ease they usually have. Not a nice trick to play on someone trying to lose weight. Or the way I would kill for a piece of chocolate. In the past I have lived months without a piece. Today however, yeah, I ate two candy bars. Damn it!

The great thing is, people (read: Jim and girls) are so understanding of your craptastic moods. You can act like a wicked psycho and people just accept that this is normal. I spent most of my time with adults alternating between being sad and pissed about Spring Break.

Why would I be sad and mad about the Spring Break I have been countind down to FOREVER. In three weeks, at this exact moment, I will be in DC. Fucking thrilled, believe me. However, the piss in my cheerios is that I am really sweating this job thing. I know deep down in the dark bowels of my brain that I am applying to these huge school districts, and they have lots of vacancies. However, I am not IN the area right now, which...well....it complicates things. So, I had signed up ages ago for this teachers version of monster.com and I get all these emails about job fairs and shit like that. Good stuff. Well, I have been getting a lot about job fairs. And I remembered that in Boston there was this HUGE job fair. So, being the curious, yet pessimistic soul I am, I figured I would look, see if any of my potential districts would be there, figuring we are so far away, no dice. Except they will all be there, with the sole exception of the one I really really want to work at, which will be a stretch anyway, since I don't even know if they have any openings, and they have like two small elem. schools.

Problem is, it's Thursday. Morning. As in, I would need to leave DC on Wednesday night. Now, I COULD do Jim's little "see the glass as half fucking full" and say to myself, being there from Thursday night to Wednesday night is great. I have not seen him in a few weeks, plus after my spring break it's just four weeks until graduation (which, unlike my mother, he will be there) And THEN after graduation I have like four weeks until I am there forever and ever and ever. (giggle)

But no, it's so much "easier" to look at it and whine that 1. The plan was to be there until Saturday. 2. Wednesday night to Saturday means missing two full days 3. I really don't want to drive to Boston.

I have not made any decisions yet. Of course, I have about a week to make it. I also know deep down that there could be benefits to coming back early, like knowing that I start my two week master teaching the Wednesday after we get back means that I could get a lot more work done instead of busting my hump over the weekend.

In other news, I created a new wishlist. I have found time and again that buy.com is cheaper than amazon so I have been going there to buy books. Like I am thinking of now, as a little retail therapy...Anyway, so I created a wishlist. The greatest thing is that most items are free shipping, unlike Amazon's 25 plus free shipping. I think when I do Secret Santa in seven months I will only do buy.com because, well, it's cheap.

Three cheers for cheap!

Before - After

said Jenn on March 27, 2003 at 9:54 p.m.