Navigate

New
Older
About Me
Cast
Diaryrings
contact
Wishes
clix
my ebay listings
Image
Design
Diaryland


Recently

July 01, 2006
day 7
June 30, 2006
day 6
June 29, 2006
day 5
June 28, 2006
day 4
June 27, 2006
day 3


Countdown

last weekend

Graduation was insane.

Thursday I met Jim on campus, we ran some errands and checked in to the hotel on campus. It was nice that we would be staying so close to school and my house. That night we stayed in the room, watched a little TV and what not. I don't know about Jim but I was definitely feeling a little sexually frustrated. I had been looking forward to his visit for so long, but biology had a different plan for us that weekend. Whatever. At least I get my period now. Too bad I have to pay 15 bucks a month to get it.

On Friday I subbed, as I mentioned in an entry last week. It was fun, and was eye opening. Maybe 2nd grade wouldn't be so bad. The curriculum was interesting, but some of the kids were so immature. I had like 3 criers. Ugh.

We went to the reception for school of ed grads that night and it sucked. It was like a big pat on the back all night for the professors. Who cares? I was the one who busted my ass all year. It was fun seeing my program director get tipsy on the champagne punch though.

We drove out to Springfield to check into the hotel and though the plan had been to go out that night, the idea of driving back out to Amherst (in the rain, no less) was not appealing. So instead we headed out to this ghetto packy and got some booze. We got a "40" of Bacardi Silver, which I still have not consumed. We also got this Jack Daniels cranberry thing that tasted like ass. I think Jim finished it off for me. The coolest purchase was a bottle of Malibu and a 2 liter of Coke. It seems like a lot of things have taken me on a 5 year flashback, and this is definitely one of them.

Five years ago I spent the summer weekends up in Boston with then boyfriend Waste of Space (WOS). WOS was a likeable fellow...if you like abuse that is. It was always funny to drink with him because he had like zero tolerance for alcohol. I still remember the night of the prom, going back to his apartment and making some Malibu and Coke...yeah, he passed out after one. I don't think I have that heavy a hand with the rum.... :) The fridge might not have been stocked with much, but you could always guarantee some Malibu. I was telling Jim on IM the other night that each day when I come home from school I make myself a Malibu and Coke, and each day the ratio of rum to coke changes...I still haven't come across a combo that grosses me out, but whatever. It's too bad Jim doesn't like it, he isn't a coconut fan. Bummer.

Saturday morning we headed over to the Mullins Center. We had breakfast in the skating rink and it was neat seeing the sea of black. Fortunately when I checked in I found everyone in my program. When we were seated we were all together. Speaking of lucky, when we had our procession inside, I was able to spot Jim, unlike last year (which, in a stadium would have been impossible anyway). When it was time for us to go up to get our degree we were all ready to pass out. It was funny, the girl I am closest to in the program commented on why we should be so nervous, we did the hard part...all we need to do is walk across the stage and shake some hands. Now, I can't speak for everyone, but I know that J. and I were commenting on our nervousness about getting our faces plastered on the two "jumbo trons" on the stage. Ugh. Just I wanted, my face in ungodly dimensions.

After I shook Bulger's hand (darn, that was my chance to ask him where Whitey was! shucks...) my scary LA methods prof. was suddenly in front of me asking for a hug. She seems like the type of woman who would smell like cats or moths or something, but apparently she caps off crazy with her mullet. When it was time for the doctoral students to be hooded (so much work for such a pretty decoration - what does one do with it afterwards?) we all cheered for my program director. She is such a sweetie.

That night we hit the bars, and it was so much fun. I must admit, there is something about drinking that makes me feel like I should act silly. It's kind of like last year when I mentioned how I found myself acting ditsy around my housemates. I am totally conscious of what I am doing, and I hate myself for it, but I do it anyway. One thing I did like was fondling Jim at one of the bars. Yee haw!

One interesting thing to note is that I got Jim into a bar he swore he would have nothing to do with, unless it involved burning it to the ground. He did, however, manage to get us kicked out of the bar. It's really funny actually. It was our third stop on our crawl, and by that point there were lines outside most of the bars. We decided to get in the shortest. Well, it turned out they were charging a cover (only a buck, but STILL) and though we grumbled, he paid it. So we get to the bar, and the two bartenders decided they were going to pick and choose who to serve. Now, standing at the bar is annoying when there are so many people. What makes it even more annoying is when two guys decide to start humping each other and knock over almost everyone at the bar in the process. Ugh. So, people are coming up and getting served (especially girls) and some of us at the other end are being totally ignored. So, understandably, Jim starts getting pretty annoyed. So first he flicks a cup, spilling the contents behind the bar, and sending the cup flying. The piece de resistance is when he started taking coasters and tossing them (gently) at one of the bartenders. I guess they don't like that. :) So they told him to leave. They also threatened to get the bouncer, and part of me was intrigued to see if this would happen, since they were pretty busy controlling the crowd outside. But we left.

I'd like to note that you can't just chalk this up to graduation rush or anything, this bar is notorious for having asshole bartenders. That's why I usually don't go there.

So our last stop was the brewing company, which sketches me out since this biatch works there, but whatever. She was working there, but she didn't serve us. Whew. Their drinks were really heavy on the alcohol. I had a kamikaze and a cosmo - both were yucky. I forced myself to finish the former, but barely had a sip of the latter. I realized later that my plan had been to have a different drink each time, and totally forgot about sex on the beach. Darn.

Sunday was nice. We went for breakfast at my favorite place, Friendly's. I am a big fan of the big two do. We went to see Bruce Almighty, which was really good.

I must mention that on Monday, when Jim left, I was very proud of myself. When I dropped him off at the new terminal, I had a tear in each eye, but I brushed them away and that was that. I think part of it was knowing we had less than two weeks left. At this point, where it's less than a week it seems too good to be true. It almost seems more normal to be in a LDR. How can people stand seeing their loved one every day? hahah. Just kidding. But really, it will be really weird at first. Hell, we spent half of our relationship this way, and a lot has changed. As much as it seems kinda sucky, there are perks to not living together right away. I think it will be interesting to have my own place. My bet is that when it comes to our weekend visits, Jim will probably spend more time at my place. That's my hope at least. I think the full sized bed will be a big draw.

Well, it's my last night to curl up with Cheaters. So I am off to do that.

Before - After

said Jenn on May 31, 2003 at 9:42 p.m.