Navigate

New
Older
About Me
Cast
Diaryrings
contact
Wishes
clix
my ebay listings
Image
Design
Diaryland


Recently

July 01, 2006
day 7
June 30, 2006
day 6
June 29, 2006
day 5
June 28, 2006
day 4
June 27, 2006
day 3


Countdown

books, TB, and housing....oh my!

Listening to: "Into You" Fabolous

I overslept and missed an opportunity to take a tb for super cheap. I was pretty pissed. I ended up finding another place nearby, but it was like 3x as much (but still reasonable). So Monday I will finally be able to go sign my contract and get my ID badge. I still don't know what I will wear. You know, for the 1/2 a centimeter you will be able to see on the badge. I know I am going to really sweat it because it has to be around my neck every day for at least the next year.

I got my Praxis I score today in the mail, which was good, making me even more prepared for the trip to Human Resources. As I figured, I blew it away. I don't say this because I feel I am some education super genius, just that I passed the MA test, which I found harder. *shrug* I was only 7 pts from a perfect score. Woo!

I finished perusing my math text and my next item on the agenda for school is to read the two books Mr. M gave me. One is called The Basic School, as my school has a basic school focus. He said it would be a quick, light read, you know, like in one sitting. Hahahahaha. That's funny. I started reading it, wanted to stab out my eyeballs so I started playing bingo online with my nana instead. The worst part is that he said the other book is not as much of a "fun read" as the basic school book. Grrrrrrrrreat. I thought I was done with learnin'. Just kidding...but it still sucks.

Lastly, from the world of Jenn, I am still looking for a place to live. Jim has me reconsidering the place I found the other night. Apparently the woman called him and harassed him on the phone. Same with my other references (no, I did not use him as a reference, but she asked for his phone number). So yeah, I will keep that as a last resort. I was ready to pull out my hair, but Super Jenn came to the rescue. She gave me some really good resources, and now I have some places to look at this weekend. In the scheme of things, price isn't even the issue it used to be, I just don't want to be shlepping all over to get to school in the morning. As I said to her, Jenn and mornings are not a good mix, so if I can roll out of bed as late as possible, that would be beneficial for all.

Ah, I lied. I have also taken to the task of figuring out what else I "need" for the classroom. I would really like to get some snap cubes, since that was the one thing missing from the manipulatives kit. I was also thinking I would like to continue using the writing program we used in Amherst. The kit is like 135 plus you can get 10 workbooks for 50. I think that's a good deal, because it's stuff you can share. I think if push came to shove I would buy the kit myself. I would wait on the workbooks though. I also found some books on overstock and amazon that I want. I'm really big on Responsive Classroom and apparently its pretty big down here. Plus, with the way the school works, the gifted and talented classrooms have kids that were formerly in other classrooms, so this would be their first year in a new school. So I think a lot of the community building activities would be especially crucial.

Hey, I was wondering what people think of this, especially all you teachers out there: I was thinking of reading this story, First Day Jitters, about this girl who doesn't want to go to the first day of school because she is so nervous. The twist is that she's the teacher. I thought it would be a cute story, but I am wondering if it will be too cutesy. Last year my third graders did not mind me reading picture books as long as pictures and/or story were good, but I know other third grade teachers where the kids would revolt if a picture book was read. So...thoughts?

Before - After

said Jenn on August 01, 2003 at 3:12 p.m.