Navigate

New
Older
About Me
Cast
Diaryrings
contact
Wishes
clix
my ebay listings
Image
Design
Diaryland


Recently

July 01, 2006
day 7
June 30, 2006
day 6
June 29, 2006
day 5
June 28, 2006
day 4
June 27, 2006
day 3


Countdown

Open House successes

When push came to shove, I managed Open House day very well. First of all, I would just like to note, that unlike some teachers on my hall, I have not shed one tear over anything teacher related. One girl on Friday broke into hysterical sobs and while that unnerved me, it was more because I fear for her kids. Anyway, back to Thursday. I kept having this thought that parents would ambush me, asking me questions about age and experience. But noting that flipping out would not change the situation, I kept it together. As my mentor scrambled around, getting her classroom ready, she commented on how calm I was. Yay for that. The parents started coming in, I was standing at the door, and I noticed something interesting, which I should have expected, but did not: some parents walked right by me. Now this could be for two reasons. One is that they don't want to jam up the doorway, but my sneaking suspicion, at least for one, is that they did not think I was the teacher. However, everyone was cordial, no questions were asked. People asked about my name since it's really odd and hard to say, and some asked me questions because they heard I was from MA. I did have one psycho parent come in, but he wasn't even a parent from our school. He started asking me questions about the GT center and stuff, and about 3 minutes in, my AP came in to rescue me. It sucked because I had rehearsed what I would say if I would get cornered, but this guy never stopped to take a breath, nevermind give me a chance to get away. Apparently he had been dropping in and harassing quite a few teachers, so I don't feel quite so special. :)

The kids were an interesting mix. Some came right up, shook my hand and introduced myself. Some kinda shuffled in, head bowed, and upon prompting from parents, finally looked up with huge doe-like eyes, but said nothing. Either way, they all stole my heart.

Anyway, this weekend I spent relaxing (as much as possible) at the E family compound (Jim's parents) and tonight we head back to DC. Tomorrow's agenda includes a voyage to the mall, and then it's back to school!

I'll be sure to update you all, hinging on whether the computers in my school are dewormed.

Before - After

said Jenn on August 31, 2003 at 2:35 p.m.