Navigate

New
Older
About Me
Cast
Diaryrings
contact
Wishes
clix
my ebay listings
Image
Design
Diaryland


Recently

July 01, 2006
day 7
June 30, 2006
day 6
June 29, 2006
day 5
June 28, 2006
day 4
June 27, 2006
day 3


Countdown

on the horizon

I feel braindead. I have been pulling 12+ hour days over at the school, going to meetings, working on my room, and I still don't feel ready for tomorrow's Open House. To be quite honest, the idea of open house has me scared shitless, mostly because parents can be intimidating anyway, but gifted parents (at least around here) have quite the reputation. Anyway, I decided not to go over to school today. I might be kicking myself for it tomorrow but I highly doubt it. My desks are arranged, stuff is on the wall...it's not chaos or anything, it's just not what I had wanted...yet.

I had two inservices today: one on math and one for new gifted teachers. The math one sucked although it was supposed to be 3 hours, and they let us off (with credit for 3) after one. Basically they went through the kit and was like "This book is the SOL practice book. The answers are in blah blah blah." Yeah thanks. As if labelling it in huge letters is not enough for me. Also, if you gave me like 5 minutes, I would find the answer key. Also, it's 4th grade math. Give me 5 minutes and I could also just figure out the answers. When I was an undergrad and working in a school I usually did not grade with a key. It was more work to look around the room to find the darn thing. So I would grade one, figuring out the answers along the way, and then use that as my "key."

Jim and I have been making dates to see each other. I think we are pretty much on an every-other-day type of schedule, which I know will be shot to hell come schooltime, but it's helped me to make the transition. It's nice to know that he is 1.1 miles away, as I discovered while playing with my tripometer. I also figured out that it's 2.6 miles from his house to school and 3.2 from my house to school.

Anyway, so my stress levels are pretty high right now. It's livable though. I kinda disagree with my team on some issues and I am trying to work out what I can do differently from them. It's kinda like a pick your battles type of thing.

Otherwise, life is going well. I spoke to my brother on the phone last night, so that made me happy. He's doing well in school, is happy, and is losing most of his kiddo voice, which is the one part that makes me sad. I still remind him that he was once the toddler that I put make up on, and he laughs, cause he's a good kid like that.

Before - After

said Jenn on August 27, 2003 at 4:02 p.m.