Navigate

New
Older
About Me
Cast
Diaryrings
contact
Wishes
clix
my ebay listings
Image
Design
Diaryland


Recently

July 01, 2006
day 7
June 30, 2006
day 6
June 29, 2006
day 5
June 28, 2006
day 4
June 27, 2006
day 3


Countdown

first week

One thing I had not anticipated when planning the first day was that these kids, all coming from different schools, would have so many darn questions. It makes sense now. I already made a note in my things to think about for the future notebook that the first day should really be as much of a q&a session as they need.

The interesting thing is that those shy doe-like children seemed to lose all semblance of shyness once their parents left on the first day. What a group of chatterboxes! Not really as much during seatwork, though I have already changed a few desks last night to even things out chattiness wise. I have one sweet little boy who just seemed so sad yesterday, it broke my heart. He wouldn't tell me what was wrong. I hope he feels better today.

The second day was much smoother than the first. We actually got to spelling, math and writing. Nothing big, more things I can use to get a picture of where they are coming from. We also started handwriting which is a big deal for these kids. They seemed so proud as they practiced their downcurve and upcurve.

I did notice, when looking at their writing samples that for most, their printing sucks, but the kidlets did not seem to mind when I sent them home with printing practice for homework last night.

Speaking of homework, these kids are absolutely clamoring for homework. There were many audible groans when I said there would be no homework aside from reading on weekends. Well, excuse me!

I feel like I am butting heads every so often with my teammates, and it makes me feel bad, but just because they do something one way, or do something at all that I don't do doesn't mean that one way is better, or that I think so. For example, I decided not to give them an assignment to make a collage from magazines. It sounded more like a busywork type of thing for Back to School night...something they could display on a bulletin board. Well, what's the point of that? I did not say that though. All I said is that I did not want to do it, and my mentor/teammate looked hurt. Whatever. I am not going to give my kids stuff to do to make her happy.

Anyway, I finally figured out what's up with my teacher station, which is good because that means I can update from school if I have a chance, like now.

Before - After

said Jenn on September 03, 2003 at 7:21 a.m.