Navigate

New
Older
About Me
Cast
Diaryrings
contact
Wishes
clix
my ebay listings
Image
Design
Diaryland


Recently

July 01, 2006
day 7
June 30, 2006
day 6
June 29, 2006
day 5
June 28, 2006
day 4
June 27, 2006
day 3


Countdown

Let it snow!

Jim was right and it was pretty funny. He's in CA, and when talking to him via IM I had told him that snow had been on the way. This was Thursday, and he predicted that I would not have a full day of school yesterday. I woke at 6 yesterday, peeked out the window....snow! I checked my computer and my district was on 2 hour delay. I figured we would not get a whole day off since we already lost 2 for the hurricane (and some schools in my district already lost their 3 freebies). Although, since my superintendent is leaving I thought maybe he just won't care. He's leaving in March so maybe he would just screw us over. But I guess not. Anyway, instead of feeling wicked tired, I felt really awake, so I went downstairs to the gym. Watching the news as I walked a mile, I started to see what Jim was talking about the last 2 years. No offense to any VA/MD/DC drivers out there, but many of you suuuuuuuuuuck. Catherine has my back on this one. This newswoman was right near my house on rt 7 and the camera is watching these people ZOOM by and she's talking about how, since it's dark, and the snow had turned to rain the roads are deceptive, they were way more slick and yucky than they looked. She talked about all these vehicles jacknifing and whatnot and I was pretty disgusted. So I went back upstairs at 6:30, took a shower, and curled up into bed. By the time I woke up at 9 things were a lot better. I crawled to work. I think it's the only time I have obeyed the 25 MPH speed limit on 7. Not that I am a speed demon, but I find 25 a bit ridiculous. The funniest part was that I ran into my teammate Jen at the Giant. She and I have been talking a lot more lately, and she even invited me to this party she was going to (actually today). I think I might go JUST because I want to get to know her better. There are a lot of women my age at school, and apparently that's a rarity. Some of them are really snotty, like the 5th grade team. So that's fine. But since there are like 2 other girls my age right across the hall from me, my goal is to befriend them. Which, as I have noted here many a time, is really really hard for me. I think I am just really self-conscious, and fear rejection, etc.

I watched Finding Nemo for the first time last night with my roommate. Very cute and funny! It was a nice way to spend a blustery evening. After school yesterday my mentor threw a party for all the new teachers so I went. And I am pretty bummed because we did this white elephant thing, and I really did not like my gift, but everyone else did. I got a potholder and a cookbook. But, um, I don't really COOK. If you call opening a box and following the directions cooking, then I do that. But as far are buy ingredients and MAKE something (which I think of as cooking) I certainly don't do that. Most people left right away, since it had been snowing off an on all during our short day, and was supposed to snow more last night. The building seemed deserted by 6. Which is very rare, especially for our hall. I ended up going through this box where I had thrown some stuff left behind in my classroom. It was stuff on our social studies units, some ancient civs. The Egypt stuff was a mess. There would be like 4 copies of the same thing in like 3 or 4 different places. So I took it all out and threw it in another box. I did go through some of it, but since we are winding down Egypt and having our test I only picked out one last thing to do. I will probably be crucified for doing something different than my teammates, but whatever. Often the ideas I DO present do not go over well with my team, so pfffffffft to them. I spent like 20 minutes typing up directions for the activity, getting the materials ready and putting it on everyone's desk. I finally left at 7, my room gets unbearably hot at night and when I looked out the window it was snowing lightly again so it seemed like a good time. I brought home a shitload of grading though. I'm kinda mad because I can't seem to find the grades for one of the assignments, but I am pretty sure I remember writing them down. Grrrr...it's not too bad though because the stuff is in a journal, so I can just check them next week.

I'm just glad vacation is coming soon, though I question how relaxing it would be to be at my parents house. It usually isnt all that Club Med-ish. I just feel like my mind is constantly racing with stuff about school and it's making me very disorganized.

Before - After

said Jenn on December 06, 2003 at 8:40 a.m.