Navigate

New
Older
About Me
Cast
Diaryrings
contact
Wishes
clix
my ebay listings
Image
Design
Diaryland


Recently

July 01, 2006
day 7
June 30, 2006
day 6
June 29, 2006
day 5
June 28, 2006
day 4
June 27, 2006
day 3


Countdown

what an amazing night

Last night was incredible. After my class got out, two hours early in fact (yay!) I picked up a salad, fruit, and water and headed over to Jen's house. We sat around and chatted for a bit and before I knew it, it was time to call J from Tuesday night. I must admit, I was a little apprehensive, having like no experience in the whole thing. However, as Jen pointed out, the worst thing that could happen is that he'll say he's busy, but reminded me that he gave me his number - I didn't ask for it.

So I called and got his voicemail. It is a little hard to sound casual when your heart is like thumping right inside your ears (or so it seems) but I think I did okay. I just left a message saying that Jen and I were heading out to Clarendon that night around 9:30-10, was hoping to catch up with them and that he should give me a call.

I promptly placed my phone on "ear-splittingly-loud setting" and set about getting ready. I decided to go with laid back sexy - my new tight jeans (not too tight) and a black knit top. I would have preferred to wear a white one, since I have a great tan (fake of course) going right now, but of course, I own like NOTHING white since I promptly get something on it some way or another. Jen and I got there maybe around 10 of 10, found a fabulous parking spot, and did the tour. We had debated which spot in Clarendon to start with, and oddly enough, started at the one located IN Jim's building where he works. A very weird feeling, let me tell you. I did do a scan of the parking lot and knew he wasn't anywhere in the building though. We did the scan, our guys were not there, and we ordered a drink. We were standing by the bar and had been there maybe 10 minutes when I catch something out of the corner of my eye - J and M were here! I knew it as soon as I saw them, but somehow needed that bit of reassurance from Jen that I was not imagining things. It was also a little harded to tell since they were still in their suits. Which by the way, is totally fine with me because a guy in a nice suit is hot as hell!! As soon as the guys paid the bouncer and came in they spotted us and headed right over. Jen played bad cop for me and chided J for not calling me back and he apologized and said he just wanted to get over here. (awwww)

So we hung out at the bar for two hours, chatting away about so much. We talked about teaching, his job, our abilities to remember words to early 90s songs yet our inabilities to remember when a meeting might be scheduled, where we went to school (he actually KNEW stuff about UMass, how neat is that?), baseball (he's an Expos fan and chided me for being a MA born Yankees fan). Jen and her guy were chatting it up too, a little odd since her guy had a girlfriend. At one point Jen started talking about her parade of men, J and I chimed in, teasing her about a few of the real winners. Then J turned to me and asked me what MY story was. (sigh) Turns out his story has some similarities. He dated the same girl all through undergrad, then another girl while he was pursuing his MBA, and he's been single ever since because he has a crazy job. He was talking about how he was looking for someone who could understand that his job takes him places, that he has to work long hours, and I thought to myself, "gee, where have I heard that before?"

It was fun, engaging in that flirty body language, not quite sure what the next move was. Towards the end of the night, he had his arm around me, talking so closely I could spot the tiny lines around his eyes (adorable!) and very faint traces of grey in his hair.

But then they had to go. Apparently today is not going to be a fun day at work. J gave me his card, told me he wanted to see me again this weekend, pulled me in for a hug, gave me a kiss on the cheek and whispered good night in my ear. I said goodnight, and tried to act casual, sipping the coke and malibu he bought before he left and as soon as he was out of sight I leaned my head on Jen's shoulder and sighed.

I try not to question how this incredibly hot guy, who is well educated, has a great job, and is just SO much fun to talk to would be interested in little ol' me. Jen whisked me away to the bathroom, and I looked in the mirror.

I'm still not sure, but I think I am going to stop questioning it. :)

Before - After

said Jenn on July 09, 2004 at 1:28 p.m.