Navigate

New
Older
About Me
Cast
Diaryrings
contact
Wishes
clix
my ebay listings
Image
Design
Diaryland


Recently

July 01, 2006
day 7
June 30, 2006
day 6
June 29, 2006
day 5
June 28, 2006
day 4
June 27, 2006
day 3


Countdown

rant to be continues later

After having a bit of difficulty finding a new roommate I had finally come to the conclusion that I should sell my house. I figured I would move into the neighborhood my old colleague Jen had moved into. It is in Arlington, a nice place to live, and the rent is pretty cheap, and really the only downfall to the situation would be going back to coin laundry and a sometimes yucky parking situation. I really wasn't even that sad about selling my house. I had ruminated about it for about a week and came to the conclusion that it was too much work, and would probably work out to be about 200 more a month than the apartment.

And then I found a great roommate today. So I have decided to put off selling my house for a bit. Because ultimately, I am a kind of lazy person and why move when there is so much other drama in my life? The funny thing was that I had just closed my phone from talking to my realtor, who was excited to note that he felt from doing some research today that I could list my house for 70,000 more than I had bought it. Nevermind the fact our housing market here is still pretty hot and there was the possibility that I could get more. When I bought it I was in a bidding war with someone else and I think I ended up paying like 20,000 more than the list price. So you never know.

But yeah, even though I had grown accustomed to the whole living alone thing and was kind of relishing it, it would be nice to hold off another year. There are certain things it would be nice to not have to give up, aside from the parking and washer and dryer. For instance, my commute will probably be easier from my house, only because of my super close proximity to the Beltway, though when I mapquested it looked like the apartment was about three miles closer to my school. Also, what was I going to do about the gym? I had wondered about that. I mean, I could still go, but it would be a little out of the way from the apartment. There's a kickass Gold's near the apartment but since it's so kickass apparently everyone goes there and parking is a nightmare.

Before - After

said Jenn on October 01, 2005 at 9:27 p.m.