Navigate

New
Older
About Me
Cast
Diaryrings
contact
Wishes
clix
my ebay listings
Image
Design
Diaryland


Recently

July 01, 2006
day 7
June 30, 2006
day 6
June 29, 2006
day 5
June 28, 2006
day 4
June 27, 2006
day 3


Countdown

more anguish after so much already...

I am losing my ability to deal when faced with hard times...it just seems like I am being slammed with one thing after another.

What am I referring to? Well, if you watched/read any sort of news source today I am sure you heard of the MA school where "Columbine II" was planned.

Good ol' NBHS - I am from the class of 1998. It's sad because I have always had a great deal of pride in where I am from. One thing I noticed today when I put on my Whalers t-shirt was that I have not worn that t-shirt just as a t-shirt since I graduated. I would wear it to bed, or to the gym...today I wore it just as a regular shirt.

The saddest part to me is that I was just there on Wednesday. In fact I was planning on writing nice long entries about my Thanksgiving (which sucked for reasons I still have not mentioned - but I will I swear!) When I was there I saw all the changes that had been made in the three years since I last walked those halls and it struck me as sad. I thought about Columbine when I was there, knowing that these changes would not have occured otherwise. Sure, we are one of the largest public high schools in New England, and we are smack dab in the middle of a big city. But there were no police officers walking the halls, no cameras, no intercoms to let you into the building. Alums would come back all the time and chat with teachers. When I came at 8 AM I was turned away, since I did not have an "appointment" - fortunately I was able to call my former guidance counselor and she arranged for me to be let in.

As we like to say, NBHS is a tough place to play. I certainly did not have a rosy time in high school. I had my fun for sure, but there were tough times. It makes me sad to know that some kids found it so tough that they wanted to "blow up the school" and gun down their classmates.

I pray for my brother, Class of 2007. What kind of a school will it be when he first walks the halls in September of 2003? Just a scant five years since I would have left, yet the similarities are vanishing quickly...

Before - After

said Jenn on November 27, 2001 at 1:16 a.m.