Navigate

New
Older
About Me
Cast
Diaryrings
contact
Wishes
clix
my ebay listings
Image
Design
Diaryland


Recently

July 01, 2006
day 7
June 30, 2006
day 6
June 29, 2006
day 5
June 28, 2006
day 4
June 27, 2006
day 3


Countdown

Happy Thanksgiving? Ha!

So here is how my totally "pissah" Thanksgiving went.

Tuesday I picked up my luscious little car (which I miss dearly) I went to class and at 3:30 headed out on the road. All was well until I got off the wrong exit, and was yelled at by a statie via his intercom. He accused me of not paying attention to the road just because I had my directions in my hand. I wasn't even looking at them! Damn pig!

So I finally made it to my parents house and all was well. I went to bed early because I had to get up at the ungodly hour of 6:30 to make it to nbhs. I never ever get up that early...actually, no, I have gotten up that early to fly out to see Jim each Christmas...but other than that...So I took my brother to school and headed over to my alma mater. It was weird seeing the intercom and camera outside the main office. That was what made me think of Columbine, eerily enough. They would not let me in to see my teachers. I protested that it was ludicrous, I graduated a scant 3 years ago and if they wanted I could probably recall four years of locker combinations, schedules, even my old student ID number. Apparently they were not impressed with my wealth of knowledge, however the gargoyle did relent and give me my old guidance counselor's phone number so I could call her. So I headed over to Dunky's to get a hot chocolate and called her. She was thrilled to hear from me and arranged for me to be let in.

The first thing I noticed was the police officer skulking around. It gave me the shivers. Otherwise, things looked the same. I even saw a kid walking around in his JROTC uniform - cruel and unusual punishment I felt for the kids to have to wear those things on spirit day....

I hung out with my favorite teachers, breaking some hearts, but delighting others when I told them about my recent career path change to education. It's funny because I used to rag on my law teacher because he was going to become a lawyer...He graduated from the same school I attend now and right before he could start law school he was drafted. When he came back from 'Nam he became a teacher. I did not understand how he could give up his dream like that. He replied that he really hadn't...and I did not understand until now. Funny enough, it turns out that he is Republican too - something I would not have picked up on in high school.

When I went to bed that night I was already wheezing. I was shivering since my parents house has like no heat and I was miserable. I was exhausted but could not sleep. I hated it.

The next morning all I could look forward to was dinner. My wheeze had gotten much worse, and was now accompanied by a horrible cough. Thanksgiving was such a disappointment. We did not even sit at a table together and eat. Of course, there was no table to sit at, as my parents moved it to make the dining room into yet another play area for my brothers. At 5 PM I contemplated leaving, and two hours later I gathered the courage to tell my mother. She was a little upset, so I stayed to watch Friends with her and then we hugged good-bye.

The scent of smoke burned my nose, attacked my senses. I always hated it when my parents smoked, but after spending three years in a smoke free environment it must have really hit me. I hoped that by the time I would get home that I would feel better. By 2 AM I was unable to breathe, and made the trek to the hospital. I did not leave until 8 AM. The doctors had no idea what was wrong with me, but leaned toward my self-diagnosis that my parents smoking had irritated my lungs. I went through 5 breathing treatments, which left my body shaky and fatigued.

Three visits to my college's infirmary later have determined that I have smoke induced asthma, hopefully something that will not affect me again unless I am around smokers. I have two inhalers and three different medicines to take each day.

The kicker is that I called my mother to tell her about what happened. She showed no remorse. She did not care that I had spent over 200 to go visit her, had to leave early...that I had spent countless hours with countless doctors, or that it cost me 100 to fill all my prescriptions. When I told her that I could not go home if there would be smoke in the house she asked me if I would have things to do up here...and decided to send me a money order in lieu of presents. I wanted to reach through to phone and strangle her. How can you be so insensitive? I wanted to scream at her, "This is all your fault!" At the end of our conversation her tone became slightly accusing and she asked me how I fared in the bars. As if I was lying to her about what happened. I icily retorted that there is no smoking in the bars here. I. Hate. My. Mother.

Second to spending oodles of money, the worst thing is that I can't go to the gym this week and I can't even go to my gym class. I feel like such a cow. The last time I went to the gym was...a week ago.

So yeah, that's why I have not been writing. :(

Before - After

said Jenn on November 27, 2001 at 10:36 p.m.