Navigate

New
Older
About Me
Cast
Diaryrings
contact
Wishes
clix
my ebay listings
Image
Design
Diaryland


Recently

July 01, 2006
day 7
June 30, 2006
day 6
June 29, 2006
day 5
June 28, 2006
day 4
June 27, 2006
day 3


Countdown

She's the Queen of the Harpies!

Wow. Such a busy day. Frequently I would find myself thinking, I have to write about this tonight!

Firstly, I must profess my newfound love for Grape Craze chapstick. Get some...it's great. It smells like grape kool-aid.

With that said today sucked....a lot. I had to skip my afternoon session of work. FOR NOTHING.........grrrrrr...Why do I let people waste my time? First I had made an appointment for an interview at our public library. I get there and right away they say, "So we told you on the phone that it's full-time, year round M-F 12-2 and Saturday 12-5." Hold it buster. You did no such thing. So I told them that. The woman says, "I didn't?" Yeah lady. I am lying to you. I explain that foreign concept of having classes and so the woman says, "Oh. I am so sorry. At least the other applicant is available." Like that makes me feel better.

Beforehand I stopped by the other job I am looking at. The woman said she only had a few questions for me but I figured since I was on my way I might as well stop by. She starts by saying, "Were you aware of all the typos in your resume?" I am thinking, say what? I quickly scan the resume, a look of utter disbelief on my face. She sees the look on my face and says, "I guess not." She points out like two places where damn Microsoft Word would not line up. Excuuuuuuuuuse me. She said that she did not notice but the woman who works with her did. But she has already kinda implied that said woman is a bitch so I feel a tad better.

THEN she asks me if my schedule is rock solid. I had asked her during my first interview if it would be a problem that I could not start until the 20th since I have a commitment at the elementary school. She said she would check and get back to me. Later that day I got a message from her saying it would be fine. Now apparently it's a problem? So I said, well, it is pretty solid, what is the timeframe you are looking at? I said that obviously I could not start this Monday because one day is not enough notice, but next Monday is possible. And so she replies that they are looking for someone this Monday. And she adds that the other girl who applied can start on Monday. I pointed out that she said it was not a problem. And she said that she did not think it would be. She personally does not find a problem with it, but the other woman apparently wants someone ASAP. She tried to reassure me that hiring is a group process. Well, all I have to say to that is that I will be so pissed if I am not hired just because of the start date thing. Especially since she said it was NOT a problem.

So I went and consoled myself with some books. It was about 4:15 and I had nothing better to do and I remembered that I should pick up my book on the GRE. After all, I have to take those soon. Well, I found some great teaching books, and I just HAD to pick them up. Total damage: $50 not including the GRE book, but I budgeted for that. Thank goodness for my birthday. While it is over three months away, I think I can convince my fam to pick up the tab as presents. I thought about waiting to get them and just having them buy them for me, but I figured the summer is the best time to do reading....when I am not so busy.

On to the lighter and brighter.....today's school lunch was Baked Cheese. Yes, not GRILLED cheese, BAKED cheese. Can you believe that? I found that absurd....but not as absurd as the 35 cents it cost me for this teeny chocolate milk. Gosh, I have seen the kids spill more liquid on the floor than what I got in that container. Never again am I forgetting my drink.

I had my first real lesson today. It was awesome but nervewracking. I taught a lesson on palindromes. I love palindromes. Fortunately a handful of kids knew what they meant and that is good because then you get to explain less. Not that I am lazy, but it is better for the kids to try to explain if they can.

I went to put money on my laundry card today. I walked into the office and the lights were off. But even at 8:40 AM it was getting warm so I figured they had the lights off to keep cool. It turned out the lights were out. Hmmm...the lights weren't out in my aparment....grrrrrr...no laundry for me today. =(

It's too bad too because if I am going to walk all the way to the office then I dont feel like walking to work because the office is in the other direction and is right at the bus stop. I have felt so much better since I have started walking to and from work. I feel healthier. Well, even though I got a lot more sleep I still feel very tired. So I think I am going to turn in early. Maybe I will write later if I change my mind. Listening to: "Hemmorhage in My Hands" -Fuel

Before - After

said Jenn on 2001-06-07 at 6:38 p.m.