Navigate

New
Older
About Me
Cast
Diaryrings
contact
Wishes
clix
my ebay listings
Image
Design
Diaryland


Recently

July 01, 2006
day 7
June 30, 2006
day 6
June 29, 2006
day 5
June 28, 2006
day 4
June 27, 2006
day 3


Countdown

my wonderful day

So. The oft promised Real World commentary. Geez...if I waited much longer it would be the next episode! I still do not like Coral. I am soooooo glad she got her comeuppance from Malik's friend. If looks could kill though, the poor guy...Mike is such a cutie, I feel so badly for him. Although I am quite shocked at his ignorance. How do you not know about Black History Month? Maybe I take it for granted that I grew up for the most part in "bleeding" liberal New England. I guess had I always grown up in Arizona, where I lived for one third of my life, I would not be the same. I mean, this is a place that for the longest time REFUSED to celebrate MLK day. I still remember the referendum on it. We were going to have the opportunity to host some snazzy sports event, but the stipulation was that we had to start celebrating the day. Despite the zillions of dollars it would have netted, the people snubbed the offer. One thing I must say (though I disagree with their decision) is that at least they stuck up for their misguided beliefs. They do not sell out. The good news is that now AZ is more with it, and now celebrates the day.

Back to RW. What I never understand is how certain prejudices are okay, but others are not. Lets take Nicole for example. Her poor cutie dares to vote for Bush and he is no good? African Americans cant and did not vote for Bush? They cannot be conservative? Now if I ever mad a generalization about African Americans I would be labeled as prejudiced, racist, what have you so fast my head would spin. It makes me think back to discussions about descriptive representation, and mistaken notions that people that share a characteristic share the same beliefs and values. I just think that it is not absurd to be a conservative African American. Since when has that become an oxymoron to people?

I understand some people feel very strongly about politics. If I was talking to Jenn I would not be surprised if my being conservative bothered her. After all, she is a very political person. It's her job and her passion. I feel strongly about politics as well. Of course, I do have to say this. I would never dismiss a Democrat. If I was single, I would not dismiss a person for being left wing. But that's just me.

Onto other topics. How did I miss that today was Friday the 13th? Darn. I am so bummed I missed it. I would have been way more into it.

So what did I do today?

I woke up, watched Maury (one of those who's the Daddy segments) went to work for 4 hours, having a wonderful conversation with the troll I work with, went to see V. We went grocery shopping (I only spent 20 bucks! Yay!) and ate dinner at my place, while watching friends. We picked up Andy, came back here at played YDKJ - I kicked her butt....I have done it so much she thinks I am cheating I'm not though, I promise. Come on, one catagory was journalism! (thanks Jim!)

THEN we went to see Legally Blonde. Snicker if you want, I liked it though. And I resisted the evil urges to have popcorn. I munched on my chocolate covered raisins. It was such a cute movie. I really really liked it.

Now here I am. ta da!

Oh, I know I mentioned a butt load of people yesterday, but one, I really like mentioning my friends, and two I thought this was noteworthy. This note was from Justin And remember you too can leave me a cool note by clicking on the CONTACT button. So do it (please?)

"Okay, so I just spent the last hour or two reading your diary from start to finish. Don't let anyone ever say I don't live up to my workslacker diaryring! :) Wow, what a life you've had lately. Since I don't know all sides of the story, I'm not going to make a judgment here, but I'll admit we guys can be kind of nervous about relationships at times. That said, I don't think it would hurt to stay the present course with Jim, since he may honestly just need time. I sure hope everything works out for the best."

Wow. ALL of my entries? This one here makes number 125. That is a lot of reading ladies and gents. What a sweetie. Did I mention that this person is not only responsible for the thongsrule diaryring but also he loves Linkin Park too! ;)

Listening to: "Play" J. Lo

Before - After

said Jenn on 2001-07-14 at 12:12 a.m.