Navigate

New
Older
About Me
Cast
Diaryrings
contact
Wishes
clix
my ebay listings
Image
Design
Diaryland


Recently

July 01, 2006
day 7
June 30, 2006
day 6
June 29, 2006
day 5
June 28, 2006
day 4
June 27, 2006
day 3


Countdown

one hell of a year

My one year anniversary with Diaryland, my 600th entry, and this weekend was graduation. What an interesting mix.

I always love when people do a look back over the last year, so here I go...

At this point last year, I was heartbroken. Jim had left shortly after graduation and I was about to spend the summer by myself up in Amherst. Those first few nights were scary. Every little noise and shadow scared the crap out of me, so I often spent much of the night online writing and reading until I was exhausted.

June: I started settling into a routine. I finished my last summer at my school and got a job in an office on campus. My friend Andy would come to visit on the weekends when he could, and that was my only non-work interaction with people. Pretty sad. But I did get to meet a lot of people like Jenn, Kelly and Kati. Jim came to visit in June, and that was fun, but sad at the same time because he was starting his new job so I would not see him for the rest of the summer. That month I also tried to decide what schools to go to, eventually narrowing the list of like 14 to 2.

July: I started reading one of my favorite non-Diaryland journals, Rhi - a journal I still enjoy. I started hanging out with my friend V, who was taking classes for the summer. I started Diary Reviews - the first really successful review site. Working on that site has been so much fun.

August: My brother Kyle came to visit for his birthday. I started studying hardcore for the GRE. I decided to take some classes off campus at one of the all women colleges. I started worrying about me and Jim, mostly because of this skanky old friend from high school that he was talking to. As you can tell, I still do not like her. Oh well.

September: My senior year officially started. My housemates moved in, Beaker and Bunson. I turned 21 that month, and Jim came to visit to celebrate. I went back to work at the library, after taking 2 years off. Interestingly enough, it was interest (read: obsession) in Diaryland that caused me to learn about 9/11. It was the first day of one of my classes at the women's college, and I woke up early for some reason. So I decided to go online, see who updated. Back then, my homepage was MSNBC, so I started to notice a tiny (I still think that was odd) link about a plane crashing in New York. Then another link appeared. It was when the third appeared about rumors about a plane crashing in DC that I got worried. And of course, y'all know the rest...

October: my first near drunk experience took place on Mike's birthday. Mike is my Irish friend who can drink circles around me, although I still have not learned to not try to keep up. Classes were boring. I was still studying for the GREs...It was in October that I created Diary Tag - I still do not know where I got the idea for that..oh well. That has been a fun site too. Thanks bunches to Brandi for all her work with the site. Things were going well on the relationship front, so that's good. :)

November: I went back to my old high school after 3 years and that weekend a plot was revealed to have "Columbine II" that Monday. How scary is that? It was sad to see the changes that school had undergone in the wake of Columbine and I can only imagine how bad it is now. V and my other friend Chuck turned 21 the same weekend, so you can imagine how much fun that was! Jim was also up that weekend, so it was great. I signed up for an Interview - heh heh, still have not been granted one, but that's okay. I went to my parents' house for thanksgiving. You can imagine just how much that sucked, given how much my family is dysfunctional.

December: FINALLY, the GREs! I felt like I had been studying forever! Thankfully I did well, so I proceeded with my applications to UVa and UMass, crossing my fingers and hoping I got into Virginia. For a Christmas present Jim rented me a car for the week so I could go visit my family. Big mistake. It would have been better to have stayed in Amherst all alone. For the third year in a row Jim and I spent New Years Eve together, so that was nice.

January 2002: It seems to be good luck when I start the new year with Jim. I could not believe it, 2002 was finally here! This was one year where I did not spend the first few weeks having to correct myself after writing the wrong year. I had been excited about '02 since I started college in '98. It was not until the Spring semester started that it began to sink in that my undergraduate years were coming to an end.

February: blah, we should cut out February, because nothing very interesting happened. I got a letter from UMass, inviting to come interview for the grad program.

March: Jim turned 23 (old man!). I interviewed for my program, and was wait listed for Virginia. :( I bought my car, sinking me into a life of debt..heh heh. A few days after my interview I got the news: I got into the masters program at UMass. Boy was I excited! I was finally on my way to becoming a teacher! I had my last Spring Break ever - Jim and I went to New York and then to the Cape to meet my extended family. :)

April: Jim and I celebrated three years together, it's amazing to think about, even now. I never ended up hearing from Virginia, so I guess that is the Southern way of telling people no. Oh well. I started getting information about next year and while it was really scary, it was really exciting too.

May: I made plans to move across town, and that was kinda sad, because I have lived in this apartment for two years. This is the first place Jim and I have lived together, it was my first home, it's been a lot of things to me. I will certainly miss our little hellhole..because it was ours. I had my last day of undergraduate class, most likely my last exam. As I spent this month looking inward, wondering if I have changed, I realized I had, and for the better (thank goodness). I feel more comfortable in my skin and it leads me to believe that next year will be an even greater one.

Stay tuned...it's a life, my life, in progress....

Before - After

said Jenn on May 27, 2002 at 10:55 p.m.