Navigate

New
Older
About Me
Cast
Diaryrings
contact
Wishes
clix
my ebay listings
Image
Design
Diaryland


Recently

July 01, 2006
day 7
June 30, 2006
day 6
June 29, 2006
day 5
June 28, 2006
day 4
June 27, 2006
day 3


Countdown

Friday Five

Friday Five! On a Saturday, but oh well.

1. What is your current occupation? Is this what you chose to be doing at this point in your life? Why or why not? Um, well my current occupation is student/student teacher. I wish I was just a teacher at this point, but hey, I only have another year until that point! I am really excited about being a student teacher though because it's like team teaching, which I really like.

2. If time/talent/money were no object, what would your dream occupation be? Wow. Well, My dream occupation is to be a Senator, I think. I would love to do something in politics that would allow me to shape the course of education, since I don't think it is on the right track right now. So maybe my dream would not to be holding office myself, but to be a liasion for educational issues, or to be a lobbyist...I hadn't really thought about that too much though.

If not that, then my dream is to open my own school. It would be an all girls elementary school, with a wonderful arts and music program as part of our after school program. We would use portfolios as "assessment"...well, I won't go on and on about it, but it would be so cool.

3. What did/do your parents do for a living? Has this had any influence on your career choices? Well, my father works in a factory and my mother alternates between being at home and working part time somewhere. So, no, no influence there...Well, okay, I realized that was NOT what I wanted.

4. Have you ever had to choose between having a career and having a family? No. Jim and I have talked (VERY briefly) about what we would do when we have kids (many many years from now) and I want to be home with my kids. I really do. If finances allowed it I think I would like to be home with them until they go into preschool (3 or 4 years old). But I would definitely be home that first year at the very least.

5. In your opinion, what is the easiest job in the world? What is the hardest? Why? I really think that teaching can be one of the hardest jobs in the world. You have so much on your plate, especially with all the new ed reforms. Of course, I think any job is what you make of it, so I couldn't really say what the "easiest" is. The easiest job is the job you look forward to doing everyday.

Before - After

said Jenn on August 24, 2002 at 1:04 p.m.