Navigate

New
Older
About Me
Cast
Diaryrings
contact
Wishes
clix
my ebay listings
Image
Design
Diaryland


Recently

July 01, 2006
day 7
June 30, 2006
day 6
June 29, 2006
day 5
June 28, 2006
day 4
June 27, 2006
day 3


Countdown

broke diaries, 2002

On fire today, eh?

So before I put these days behind me, let me share The Broke Diaries, 2002

One day I went out with a friend for dinner. Being the broke person I (was) am, I picked Chili's thinking that I could get away with getting a water and sitting in the bar section, which means free chips and salsa. The waiter of course, was having none of that, so in a moment of panic I ordered a chicken sandwich. Inspiration had hit me. My friend was paying for dinner, since alas, I had no money on me, so I decided to stretch it out by eating the french fries and having the sandwich wrapped. Of course, wouldn't you know that the next day when I put it in the microwave it did not taste the same? I was pretty bummed.

My next bright idea was that since Ex invites me to dinner every Friday I would get one of those chicken dinners at Friendly's...they were having a special where you get a sundae when you order them. After eating the sandwich and fries I was too full to eat the ice cream anyway, so I got a rain check and wouldn't you know that a few days later I went back to get the ice cream - to eat as dinner. Yeah, no wonder my stomach has been hurting lately. I did this about twice and thankfully the special is over now anyway.

The worst I think was that every night for the last two weeks, when I wasn't eating ice cream, I had spaghetti. No sauce, mind you, just spaghetti. My mom had filled this container that I bought last year so I had decided that I would not buy anything else until I used it all.

Interesting thing has come out of all this. I have reduced my portions a TON since I had read somewhere to put your fork down and count to 20 between bites. I have been doing this since I wanted the spaghetti to REALLY last and I must say that I actually get up from the table feeling really full.

This week's goal: counting to 25.

Before - After

said Jenn on August 26, 2002 at 1:12 p.m.