Navigate

New
Older
About Me
Cast
Diaryrings
contact
Wishes
clix
my ebay listings
Image
Design
Diaryland


Recently

July 01, 2006
day 7
June 30, 2006
day 6
June 29, 2006
day 5
June 28, 2006
day 4
June 27, 2006
day 3


Countdown

breach of security

My first week is over. What a good feeling. Don't get me wrong, it's not like it is a horrible place to be. I'm just glad that it's over...until Monday when it starts all over.

I was walking through Amherst today and felt a pang of regret. It was such a beautiful day and the center of town is such a nice place to be. My kids don't experience that. I'm scared, being in their neighborhood. When I drive from the school to the highway I drive with my door lock and my window rolled up - no matter how much of an oven my car is. Is it me? Am I racist or classist? I don't treat my kids this year any differently than my kids from last year. But frankly, I am terrified of the area. I worry every morning that I will come out to my car and it will be vandalized (to be fair, there are notices in the teacher's lounge warning teachers based on things that happened last year).

I mean, come on. This school district has only 10 security officers and my school has four of them. My high school has security now, but that's more post-Columbine than anything else. When I was there my school district had zero.

Well, I may not be talking about school as much because my program requires me to write journal reflections every week so I might be all journaled out when it comes to school. :)

Before - After

said Jenn on September 07, 2002 at 3:57 p.m.