Navigate

New
Older
About Me
Cast
Diaryrings
contact
Wishes
clix
my ebay listings
Image
Design
Diaryland


Recently

July 01, 2006
day 7
June 30, 2006
day 6
June 29, 2006
day 5
June 28, 2006
day 4
June 27, 2006
day 3


Countdown

Saturday Scruples

Saturday Scruples

You're interviewing candidates for a job. The best qualified applicant is overweight. Do you hire this person? Hmph. Unless the job has ANYTHING to do with weight I don't see it as a problem, and would not have thought about it. Of course, I am biased. I wonder if I would have said anything before I had gained a ton of weight.

A loved one is in a car accident and is dying. You're asked to donate his organs for a transplant. Do you? (note: you don't know the persons wishes.) This is tricky. I don't think Jim is in favor of this...but the question says you don't know the person's wishes. Well, I don't know...it seems silly to me NOT to. I mean, hell, you aren't using them anymore...*sigh* I think I would do it.

Your adolescent children ask if you ever smoked marijuana when you were young. You did. Do you admit it? Hmmmph. Well, I haven't. But anyway, I would. Kids that age assume already that parents don't know jack, and I think it's hard to preach the "just say no" line if you haven't done it. Now, you kinda come off as a shmuck - "do as I say, not as I do" but I think you can lend some perspective - you know, "I did it, and I saw my mistake". Hell, when it comes down to it, the kid is going to make up his own mind. I don't think you can really sway 'em one way or another. Also, how can you preach honesty if you are not honest with your kids?

Before - After

said Jenn on February 22, 2003 at 9:00 a.m.