Navigate

New
Older
About Me
Cast
Diaryrings
contact
Wishes
clix
my ebay listings
Image
Design
Diaryland


Recently

July 01, 2006
day 7
June 30, 2006
day 6
June 29, 2006
day 5
June 28, 2006
day 4
June 27, 2006
day 3


Countdown

Saturday Scruples

Saturday Scruples!

As a waitress, you win $10 million from a lottery ticket you received as a tip. Normally tips are pooled but you kept this one. Do you share the money?
Would I share with the other waitresses? No. But it's not like I am going to keep all this money to myself. I think the whole pooling tips thing is stupid. I was a delivery driver and what I made, I got. Sure there were nights when someone would make a lot more than me, but hey, it just prompted me to work faster and be even nicer to customers. Back to the 10 M, I would pay for my brothers to go to private school plus college. I would give Jim's parents money for his brothers and sister's college educations. I would also put aside money for my mother to go back to college. I don't even know if she wants to anymore, but she used to talk about it. Then money would not be an issue. I would buy my grandparents' house in the Cape. I would do whatever I could to help out my grandparents. Ever since my grandfather retired they have been living so frugally (not that they spent crazy cash before) and I want them to have the best. I would want to do something for Jim's family, but I know they would never accept it. They have been nothing short of fucking amazing to me, so I would want to repay their kindness in another way. Lets see...(I know this is not exactly what the question was asking, but this is fun). I have very few close friends in my life, so as a result, I would want to treat them like gold. I would get a house for Holly in a little town outside the city we are from. I would also pay for her to finish school and for all the costs to get certified to teach. She is going to be an amazing teacher. Vanessa, Vanessa, what could I possibly do for that girl? I swear she has everything she wants...not that she is spoiled or just wastes her money, but more because she doesn't want an awful lot. I would pay for my friend Andy to go back to school to get his M.Ed. Last, certainly not least...Suz ah. Well, first of all, I would set aside money for her to go get her Bachelors. Then, she knows what else I would do. This is not her diary, so I am not going to talk about things I don't recall her saying in her journal - just to me. Plus I would move her ass closer to VA. Oh, and upgrade her dino.

Well, all that for other people. What about me? What about Jim? Well, first we would buy a house in the town he really likes near DC. I would get us both new cars. Nothing especially flashy, just something to get us from Point A to B without having meltdowns. I would make a donation in his name to the Journalism dept at our school, as well as one in my name to the Political Science dept. It would be about time that big monies goes to the social sciences and humanities. I would make a donation to where Jim works, not only because that's where it all started for him, but because I believe in what he's doing. The caveat would be that it goes to where Jim thinks it should go. I know I have talked about this a million times, but I would love to build my own school. Lastly, but certainly not least, I would plan a fabulous wedding and we would go the Virgin Islands for as long as we wanted for our honeymoon. For our one year anniversary we would travel through Europe for the summer or something.

Your dad's dying wish is to be buried in his homland. The expense will take most of your inheritance. Do you obey the request?
Hmph. Well, I'll tell you this. I would not be in my step-father's inheritance, but I'll play along. No, I don't think I would. Looking back over my life, being ignored, belittled, hit....fuck him. It's interesting because my mother and I have had such a rocky relationship too, but I would do it for her. Maybe because she's blood. For better or worse, she's mine. I can deal with that, even. But also, she never ignored my very existence in that house. Like she wished I was not there.

You own a supermarket. Genetically altered fruits and vegetables are popular but no one knows for sure if the are safe. Do you sell them?
Well, if it's not illegal, sure. Look, we are talking about adults that can make informed decisions. In other states, not mine, they sell alcohol in supermarkets. Is that the best thing for you? No. But people are allowed to make that decision. When they come out and say no, it's not safe...we know for sure, then I would have to re-evaluate.

Before - After

said Jenn on March 22, 2003 at 7:33 a.m.