Navigate

New
Older
About Me
Cast
Diaryrings
contact
Wishes
clix
my ebay listings
Image
Design
Diaryland


Recently

July 01, 2006
day 7
June 30, 2006
day 6
June 29, 2006
day 5
June 28, 2006
day 4
June 27, 2006
day 3


Countdown

last day and night

Vacation update

It felt weird, driving Jim over to the metro station. I was so nervous, driving his car with him actually in it. It's a fun car though. I think I adapted to it pretty well.

After I dropped him off I picked up some hashbrowns from BK - yum yum. I don't normally pick up fast food, but that's my one little indulgence. Besides, it's not often that I am awake and not doing anything while breakfast is being served. Ha.

I went home, got ready and headed over to the school. There was no parking lot! Unless it was hiding, which sucks. It was all street parking. How bizarre. I walked in, got a visitor's badge and cruised around for a while. The classrooms are good sized, which is nice. The walls were covered with student work, academic and art. One thing I noticed, which was pretty cute, is that they took the name of their mascot, and made up these rules as an acrostic. The classrooms seem to be clustered by grade, which I think has it's benefits, especially when you have your own classroom. For both semesters of my student teaching I was in an open classroom setting, so teachers usually try to get placed with other grades so that there would periods of quiet. But as far as planning purposes and such, it is nice to be near the other third or fourth graders. Another thing I noticed was that the staff was so young! Now, this would be good because then I would not stick out like a sore thumb. However, if I am looking for an unofficial mentor...might not be as good. Whatever. Lets not put the cart before the horse.

After I took the tour, I met with the guidance counselor, who told me more details about the school. This school, according to her, seems to have a great population. Not a lot of students with special needs, or ELLs, yet they have the resources to more than cope with it. So that's nice.

So now, all I have to do is write up my letter of interest and send out my application. I have had it done for months, but needed to wait for my recommendations, which, still aren't done, but will be done by like the 2nd of May. Since that date is around the corner, I feel it is appropriate to send it out soon. I think I will do it this Friday.

After my school visit I went off to meet Jim and the crew for lunch again and then I went back to his house to kick back and relax. It's interesting how suddenly sitting around watching TV for hours suddenly loses its appeal. So I decided to surprise Jim and pick him up from work rather than make him take the metro home. Okay, I had a pretty selfish reason too.

When I went to meet him for lunch, I took a wrong turn somehow, and instead of going on 613 I ended up on 50. Ugh. I followed his directions! So I was determined to make it this time. And I did! Yay for me and my skillz. ;)

We made plans to go out for dinner with his housemate that we went to college with. Nice girl. She ended up taking us to this wicked frou frou place. Grrrr. I feel so uncomfortable in la di da places. If it had been just me and Jim I would have insisted we leave. I tried to send him "I don't like it here" messages, but he either did not pick it up or ignored it. Had some good tiramisu though.

Last night at Jim's. :(

Before - After

said Jenn on April 22, 2003 at 10:30 p.m.