Navigate

New
Older
About Me
Cast
Diaryrings
contact
Wishes
clix
my ebay listings
Image
Design
Diaryland


Recently

July 01, 2006
day 7
June 30, 2006
day 6
June 29, 2006
day 5
June 28, 2006
day 4
June 27, 2006
day 3


Countdown

walking down mem. lane

I started reading Harry Potter today. I had been putting it off, saving it for some lackluster day when I had nothing else to do. However, since Jim was working late, and doesn't have the key, I needed something to do downstairs, so I started reading it. I am about 150 pages in, and loving it.

My first three netflix movies came in today. I did not know they were based in MD, so they came a whole day earlier than expected. I already watched one (SATC season 4, disc 1) and dropped it in the mail, and I am about 5 episodes into Mad About You, season one, disc one. I'm so glad I did not buy it, because though it is fun to watch, I wouldn't watch it again. Maybe my book philosophy is more in line with my movie philosophy - can only view/read it once. One notable exception is actually the HP books. It was either last summer or last Christmas that I re-read the whole series. It was probably the summer, since I had a lot of time on my hands.

Speaking of last summer, I found myself thinking about working at the home yesterday. It started while I was ironing Jim's clothes. Every night the girls had to iron their clothes, or else risk being put in the equivalent of a time out. All they wore were jeans and t-shirts and I used to feel bad for the girls. Of course, at the time I remember thinking that with all that practice, they were probably better at this ironing thing than I was. I think that's why I was thinking about it yesterday. It takes me a while to get the ironing done because I am so obsessive about it. I run the iron over and over and over his clothes. Actually, when it comes to my own clothes it's zip, zap, done. What a creepy place, that home. When I was drifting to sleep last night again it crept into my thoughts. ALl the things I used to do during my overnight shifts. Making things out of gimp, writing to Jim, all the books I read. I felt a remnant of my feelings of anticipation - I was so excited about starting grad school. I devoured the books on the summer reading list.

Of course, here I am, a year later, still feeling like I have so much to learn, still devouring education books.

Oh well, I better hit the hay, tomorrow I am heading off to do the museum circuit.

Before - After

said Jenn on June 24, 2003 at 10:42 p.m.