Navigate

New
Older
About Me
Cast
Diaryrings
contact
Wishes
clix
my ebay listings
Image
Design
Diaryland


Recently

July 01, 2006
day 7
June 30, 2006
day 6
June 29, 2006
day 5
June 28, 2006
day 4
June 27, 2006
day 3


Countdown

monday memories 3

Monday Memories

"Who was your first "best friend"? Do you still keep in touch with them now?"

The first best friend that I remember was from 3rd-4th grade, Amber. She and I were in the same class those years and she lived not far from my house. She had a baby brother not too much older than my brother Kyle. Things were always kind of weird because she had already had a best friend (geez, am I friend stealer or what?!) who I later became best friends with. My friendship with Amber fell apart for two main reasons: one, in fifth grade I was in a different class; two, it was January of 4th grade, and she and I got into a big fight. I went over her house for a sleepover with some of my Barbies, and her cousin was over. I don't know why Amber was acting so differently, but she was acting like she was so cool and could do whatever she wanted. She took some of my favorite Barbies and said she was going to play with them. Well, we had played with our Barbies lots of times before and the rules were that you would pick a few to go in like a community pile. Obviously you would not share your best Barbies. I liked this rule especially because Amber liked to play barber with her Barbies and I did not want my Barbies to end up with mohawks. Anyway, I can picture the day like it happened yesterday. We were sitting on the floor of her room, listening (no lie) to Milli Vanilli and she took my ice capades Barbie. I was not going to have any part of that, so I went to grab her back. Amber started saying how it was her house, so she could do whatever she wanted. Before I knew it, we were fighting on the floor of her room. I don't know who started it exactly, all I know is that she started pulling my hair, and so I pulled hers back. Her cousin must have run out to tell her folks, because her parents came in and pulled us apart. I think they got even more mad when we all realized that when I pulled away I had a handful of Amber's hair, whereas she had not even one strand of mine. Poor thing, I felt badly about it. She was given permission to wear a hat in school for at least a week. Needless to say though, I was sent home. I think part of the reason I remember this so well is this was the first time ever I got grounded. It didn't last long, but my parents knew Amber's parents wanted them to do something. Anyway, we lost touch after 4th grade.

Before - After

said Jenn on June 30, 2003 at 10:03 a.m.