Navigate

New
Older
About Me
Cast
Diaryrings
contact
Wishes
clix
my ebay listings
Image
Design
Diaryland


Recently

July 01, 2006
day 7
June 30, 2006
day 6
June 29, 2006
day 5
June 28, 2006
day 4
June 27, 2006
day 3


Countdown

Blogathon 2003 - PCOS

After some careful consideration, I have signed up in the 2003 Blogathon and I will be blogging for a PCOS website.

What is PCOS?
Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome indiscriminately strikes women between the ages of puberty and menopause. It is the leading cause of female infertility, and if left untreated can lead to diabetes, heart disease, and endometrial cancer. The symptoms of PCOS frequently rob a woman of her self-esteem and femininity, and can include irregular menstrual cycles, excessive facial and body hair(hirsutism), male pattern baldness, acne, polycystic ovaries, obesity/weight gain, skin tags(acrochordons), infertility, dark skin patches(acanthosis nigricans), depression.

Despite statistics claiming that at least 10% of the female population suffers from some form of PCOS, women continue to receive minimal attention and/or information from the medical community.

Information taken from soulcysters.net and thanks to Karen!

When I was a junior in college a doctor at health services suspected I had PCOS. Unfortunately she was not very knowledgable and wanted to have an ultrasound to confirm. At the time my insurance did not cover ultrasounds and I did not have the money to cover it myself. Last year I was finally diagnosed with PCOS and I started treatment in early 2003. Unfortunately, this is no cure, but I have seen improvement in many areas where I was affected by PCOS.

By sponsoring me, and donating to PCOSupport.org, your donation will help provide patient support services, educational conferences, medical education programs and research support services as well as media and community advocacy programs. Please help raise PCOS awareness!

Sponsor me in the 2003 Blogathon!

Before - After

said Jenn on July 10, 2003 at 2:09 p.m.