Navigate

New
Older
About Me
Cast
Diaryrings
contact
Wishes
clix
my ebay listings
Image
Design
Diaryland


Recently

July 01, 2006
day 7
June 30, 2006
day 6
June 29, 2006
day 5
June 28, 2006
day 4
June 27, 2006
day 3


Countdown

before....

I got my contract in the mail today. What a great feeling. I met with my team and then worked on my classroom. I feel like Sisyphus - I have done so much work already, and there is just so much more to do.

Here are some "before" pics:

I moved my desks into my "structures" (groups of 4 - this was my training yesterday) and put some paper up on my bulletin boards. I was going to put up the trimmer and some stuff but then I realized it would be way more smart to get everything laminated, so then when I take it down it won't get destroyed. I also unpacked all the books I have. I have a shelf of some pretty beat books, the rest have my name and I taped quite a bit of them so they would last longer.

At one point I came back to my room, after meeting with my team, and there was a ton of supplies in my room. It was like Staples had rained down on me. It was great. After interviewing with so many schools that really did not have good budgets, I am so impressed to be in a school with a plentiful supply room, where you can get anything and everything you want.

Curriculum wise things are going well. The math series I used during my student teaching will be the one we use this year as well. It's actually a neat situation because Jen and I, the youngest members of the team, have experience with the series, but the other member, has none and she has been teaching for like 20 years. It's nice to be the knowledgeable one for once these last few days.

The one thing I have been working on is trying to get a kit for writing that I used in Amherst. I love it, and I would just buy it myself except..well, I don't want to have to drop 200 if I don't have to. My mentor is kinda unsure about the idea, and I am not sure why. Jen was all about it, and really I don't need anyone's approval but Mr. M's, but I think I would come off from a stronger position if I said, you should buy this for the three of us, instead of just me. We'll see what happens.

I'm goin to go relax with some chocolate chip cookies I just baked. How domestic!

Before - After

said Jenn on August 13, 2003 at 8:10 p.m.