Navigate

New
Older
About Me
Cast
Diaryrings
contact
Wishes
clix
my ebay listings
Image
Design
Diaryland


Recently

July 01, 2006
day 7
June 30, 2006
day 6
June 29, 2006
day 5
June 28, 2006
day 4
June 27, 2006
day 3


Countdown

blame Canada

I hate that I am awake right now. Jim and two of our friends had planned a trip to Ottawa for work, and you can imagine how fun the last few hours have been. When I first talked to Jim last night at 7 pm, I figured the trip would be cancelled. Not only was he going to Ottawa, but the plan was to go from DC to Detroit, and from there on to Ottawa. Except, well, only one of those three places had electricity. We were the lucky ones.

I was in my classroom when Jen came in and said she got a call from her dad (who lives in upstate NY) saying that the power was out all over NY. At that point, 5 PM, he (and as a result, we) didn't know what was going on. Jen was pretty scared. It made her think of 9/11, though she didn't think it was another attack.

We went off to happy hour around 5:30 and Fox News was on in the bar and we were glued to the images of people walking across the bridge, the stream of cars. It was surreal. It really did appear like 9/11 all over. It did appear like there were more people, which seemed odd to me.

Anyway, after changing flights twice, Jim and co. are on their way. Our friend B. is a little freaked out, commenting on how he's flying out of the two 9/11 airports: Dulles and Logan.

In the meantime I don't really know what to do with myself. Jim and I did not really get to sleep until 1 AM, so I am kinda tired, but I do have a lot of stuff to do. Today is supposed to be my moving day, and it turns out I really should head back over to school today. I need to set up my tech account for school. I also wanted to get in because I know not many people will be there, so it will be nice to get stuff done. Lastly, I was really hoping to trade some of my desks and chairs with other classrooms. Hee hee. I am such a vulture with the other new teachers. I have already switched my desk and my chair.

Alrighty, well I better do something, one way or another. Toodles!

Before - After

said Jenn on August 15, 2003 at 7:00 a.m.