Navigate

New
Older
About Me
Cast
Diaryrings
contact
Wishes
clix
my ebay listings
Image
Design
Diaryland


Recently

July 01, 2006
day 7
June 30, 2006
day 6
June 29, 2006
day 5
June 28, 2006
day 4
June 27, 2006
day 3


Countdown

adventures

My car is all Virginianized. Very sad really. As Amy's boyfriend Ian said (as he put on my plates for me) "All you need is the confederate flag in your back window." :( Hmph. I could not have even anticipated the problems I ran into yesterday. Remember how prepared I seemed yesterday morning. I scoff at that naive girl.

1. The day started by not being able to find the Falls Church office. It really cannot exist. I went up and down that street 3 times.
2. So I headed over to Tyson's. Apparently they opened at 8, and as it was 9:30, the line was out the door.

3. I stood out in the cold for an hour, until the system went down, and they sent us away.

4. I went over to Chantilly (this now makes DMV attempt 3) because the guy at Tyson's said their line is not as bad. However, it was already quarter of 11 when I left, and they closed at 12. Putting pedal to the metal, I went off to Chantilly.

5. I stood in line for 30 minutes in the cold, to be told that I could not get a license (apparently two picture forms of ID in addition to my SS card is not good enough) but I did get my plates and title and stuff.

6. I went to Jim's house, defeated. I watched TV with his roommate Amy for a while, and we decided to head off to the Fair Oaks mall, which is also a DMV spot.

7. We got there, the line was out of control, so we went to do some window shopping. I found some luscious MAC lipstick and gloss, which had I not spent millions at the DMV I would really have bought.

8. The happy ending to the story is that at 6, with 30 minutes before the DMV closed, I headed over. There was maybe two people in line for the info booth so I decided to try again. I got in line, had maybe a 15 minute wait and got my license. They never charged me for it though. Maybe the DMV gods thought they would make it all up to me.

And with that my DMV day of hell was over. Amy and I celebrated by going out to dinner and heading out to Clarendon to drink. Now, as you can remember, I seem to feel a need to keep up with my drinking buddies. It usually doesn't work out too well. And I should have seen this coming, since it was an Irish pub. Who can outdrink them? Well, Amy and I settled in with some appletinis, and while she had a strong start, by the end I was the champ, with 4 drinks under my belt. I was definitely feeling it too, since we had the four in maybe an hour's time. I wasn't sick or anything, but at one point I leaned forward to talk to this guy and almost fell off my stool. The great thing about trying to make a graceful comeback from those things, is that everyone else is pretty buzzing too, so they really don't notice.

I think the coolest part of the night though was being able to use my new ID. I really do like the picture, which is really rare for me. The one thing I like about Virginia is the licenses can extend up to 7 years, which I chose, so I get this cute picture til I'm 30, which I don't even want to think about now.

Okay...naptime!

Before - After

said Jenn on November 09, 2003 at 1:36 p.m.